Saturday, February 14, 2015

Super Rugby: Bruno Postiglioni signs for Argentine Franchise

Crédito: Prensa UAR
Argentine international loosehead prop Bruno Postiglioni (pictured to the right) has been confirmed as the eighteenth signing by the UAR for Argentina's Super Rugby team to enter the competition in 2016. The La Plata front-rower has agreed to a two year contract which will see him available at all times for international duty for Los Pumas and additional game time when required for other teams including Los Jaguares and the Pampas XV. The 27 year old Postiglioni was among the top three Argentine loosehead props as used by head coach Daniel Hourcade in 2014. He was also linked to a move to France but has now agreed to terms to remain in Argentina.

The signature of Postiglioni significantly simplifies the transitional post-Rugby World Cup period in which a number of players enter retirement. Confirmed to be ending his international career is long time servant Marcos Ayerza. El Toro will be remaining in England to play for the Leicester Tigers but will no longer represent his country. 

The loss of Ayerza has now been handled by the UAR as his two back-up players are confirmed Super Rugby players for the Argentine franchise. Postiglioni joins Lucas Noguera Paz in the squad and the same two players were, in addition to Ayerza, those who received game time at loosehead prop for Los Pumas in 2014.

Hourcade handed starts to Postiglioni against Uruguay, Chile and Scotland and used him as a replacement in matches against Ireland, South Africa and Australia. To date he has been capped sixteen times after having been a junior in 2006 for the Argentine under 19 side before playing at both under 20 and under 21 levels. 

Postiglioni joins fellow front-rowers Lucas Noguera Paz, Julián Montoya, Santiago González Iglesias and Matías Díaz in being contracted until at least the completion of 2014. Also having signed are Ramiro Moyano, Santiago González Iglesias, Martín Landajo, Tomás Cubelli, Guido Petti Pagadizábal, Pablo Matera, Rodrigo Báez, Matías Alemanno, Facundo Isa, Jerónimo De la Fuente, Manuel Montero, Tomás Lezana, Javier Ortega Desio, Gabriel Ascárate and Matías Orlando. 

No comments:

Post a Comment