Friday, January 9, 2015

Pan American Games: Paraguay squad for Qualifiers

Photo Union De Rugby Del Paraguay
Los Yakarés are in Argentina preparing for the Seven de Mar del Plata to be played this Saturday and Sunday. Two places are on the line at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto with Paraguay up against Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru and Venezuela to join the already qualified Argentina, Canada, Guyana, Mexico, Uruguay and USA Sevens teams at the tournament.  The six team qualification tournament in Mar del Plata is acting as the 2015 Confederación Sudamericana de Rugby (CONSUR) Sevens and brings together countries not only from South American but also from North America. Both Canada and the USA are to compete in a separate Sevens competition in Mar del Plata this weekend. 

With 2015 being a Rugby World Cup year there are limited opportunities for most countries to play international rugby. There is nonetheless going to be the Pan American Games which will feature eight rugby teams from the Americas fighting it out to win gold in Toronto. For Los Yakarés of Paraguay the qualification tournament in Mar del Plata this weekend is a great opportunity. 

The senior men's test team had a memorable 2014 with positive results in the South American Championship. Paraguay defeated Brazil in Asunción and proved to be notably more competitive against both Chile and Uruguay than had been the case in previous years. Pressure is now on the Sevens team to achieve similar results as a top two finish in Mar del Plata would see Paraguay Rugby Sevens for the first time in the Pan American Games. 

The tournament in the Argentina beach resort town is to feature five matches per countries as the six competitors will each play against one-another. Paraguay's debut is to be a challenging assignment as Los Yakarés will face Brazil first up. Brazil and Chile both competed in the 2011 Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico and are favorites to do qualify for Toronto 2015. 

Paraguayan Squad
Leonardo Glitz
Horacio Aguero
Rodrigo Da Rosa
Mateo Arévalo
Diego Argaña
Carlos Bareiro
Eymard Brizuela
Renato Cardona
Carlos Plate
Pablo Espínola
Oscar Emilio Rodríguez
Manuel Gill Morlis
Pedro Mosciaro
Enzo Cacciuttolo
Mario González
Nicolás Galatro

No comments:

Post a Comment