Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Sevens: Mar del Plata Sevens this January

Image Toronto 2015
The traditional year opening Rugby Sevens tournaments in South America are rapidly approaching. Uruguay's annual event of the Punta del Este Sevens took place last week with Moby Dick winning the traditional January event which was moved forward to December. The event is now to be followed by important Sevens tournaments in Argentina and Chile with the first of which being the Sevens de Mar del Plata to be played on January 10-11 in the Argentine beach town resort. With 2015 being a fundamental year in Americas sport the upcoming Sevens competition in Argentina is of significant importance as teams are competing for the right to play in the 2015 Pan America Games in July.  

The 2015 Sevens de Mar del Plata will determine two places in the 2015 Pan America Games to take place in Toronto, Canada in July. It is to be a competition featuring two separate tournaments of which both are international.

The first of which is known as the International Tournament. This event will consist of countries that have already qualified for the Pan American Games in addition to four provincial sides from Argentina. The eight team competition will have Argentina, Canada, Uruguay and the USA being joined by Buenos Aires, Mar del Plata, Tucumán and an Invitational 7s team.

The eight teams are divided into two groups of four. Heading Group A is Canada which will face Uruguay, Buenos Aires and the Invitational 7s side. Canada is expected to be the top side in A while Group B's number one seed is Argentina who will face the USA, Mar del Plata and Tucumán in pool play.

The second tournament to take place in Mar del Plata, the Pan-America Tournament will have two direct qualification spots on the line. Competing for these will be Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela. All six countries will face one-another in the competition in January.

Mar del Plata is also to feature a womens qualification section for the Pan American Games. Missing will be Brazil due to the 2018 Olympic Games' host nation already having qualified. Competing nations are thus to be Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. As in the mens division all six nations will face one-another. 

No comments:

Post a Comment