Saturday, September 6, 2014

Rugby Championship: Referee error costs Senatore try v All Blacks

Photo Rugby World Cup
Trailing by 19-6 in the 57th minute in Napier Argentina had a legitimate try disallowed as French referee Pascal Gauzere made an early call for a knock-on. With centre Ma'a Nonu looking to clear Leonardo Senatore attempted a charge down which saw the ball rebound back in a legal manner. Senatore regathered and scored a try but it was not given with Gauzere claiming a knock-on. No second opinion was requested as the TMO was never asked by Gauzere to clarify whether the Puma had, in fact, knocked-on or not. Four minutes after the incident Nicolás Sánchez kicked a penalty to make it 19-9. Argentina could possibly have, in other words, been behind by 19-18 in the final quarter had the referee asked the TMO to confirm whether it had been a try or not. 

1 comment:

  1. I agree that the knock-on ruling was wrong, but it's not correct to suggest that the score would have been 19–18 four minutes later. If the try had been given, the ball would've gone back to halfway and the entire rest of the game would've been different. We have no idea what the next score would have been. A great game by Argentina and I'm sure a try would've lifted their intensity, but such fantasizing is not a helpful analysis.

    ReplyDelete