Friday, May 2, 2014

Super Rugby: Argentina included in changed Format from 2016

The final details of the new Super Rugby competition remain unconfirmed but certain aspects of the competition have been made official. One such point is the inclusion of Argentina in the new tournament. Argentina's franchise, the Pampas XV, will join in 2016 and play in one of the two South African conferences as will the Southern Kings, the Port Elizabeth based franchise that played in the 2013 competition.

The new competition is to be a four conference system. Australia and New Zealand will have one conference each and be placed into the Australian Group while South Africa will have two conferences, both falling into the category of the South African Group. Argentina will be involved in Group A of the South African Group while the other new country, strongly linked as being Singapore, will participate in the second section of South Africa's group. 

Former Pumas captain and IRB Hall of Famer Agustín Pichot confirmed that Argentina's franchise will debut in the 2016 season and do so in what is to be an initial four year deal. Some minor details are yet to be finalized and, as such, an official announcement is yet to be made from SANZAR. 

The new format to come into effect in the 2016 season will mean not all teams will be able to play against each other. In the case of the Pampas XV the Argentine side is to play against all the South African sides from South Africa 1 and South Africa 2 in addition to the teams from either the Australian or the New Zealand franchises but not both. 

The Pampas XV will therefore not face either the five Australian teams - the Brumbies, Force, Rebels, Reds and Waratahs in 2016 or New Zealand's five teams - the Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders and Hurricanes. Instead in 2016 the Pampas XV will play all five of either New Zealand or Australia and in 2017 play the five from the other country. Similarly the teams involved with the Argentine franchise in the Africa 1 conference will miss out on facing the Australian or New Zealand sides but rotation will be applied for the 2017 season. 

1 comment:

  1. ArgenThe Pampas should play the Stormers, Kings and either the Sharks or Cheetahs.