Saturday, May 24, 2014

CONSUR Cup: Chile v Argentina team lists

Photo Deportes Terra
The Headcoaches of both Los Condores and Los Pumas, the senior test teams of Chile and Argentina, have confirmed their playing rosters for Sunday's international fixture in Santiago. Chile will play host to Argentina in the final match of the 2014 South American Championship and do so against a number of players certain to not only face Ireland and Scotland in June but to also be a part of the 2014 Rugby Championship.  

In what is to be the second capped test match of 2014 for Argentina Headcoach Daniel Hourcade is treating it as a genuine international. Players considered to be amongst the best available in their positions are to face Los Condores - a different scenario altogether to that which happened for the identical fixture twelve months ago.

The former Pumas headcoach Santiago Phelan was far less directly involved in the 2013 South American Championship than is the case of Hourcade in 2014. Unlike Phelan Hourcade is in charge of the Argentine team involved in the competition. The Tucumán native is also fundamentally different to Phelan in that he is seizing the oportunity to actually have players face Chile who are to also be involved in matches against Tier One opposition.

Argentina's leading halves combination from 2013 is to start against Los Condores as Martín Landajo will join Nicolás Sánchez. In the mid-field two other players of note are to combine in the centres. Javier Rojas and Gabriel Ascárate have received regular game time together previously under Hourcade in the Vodacom Cup. Joaquín Tuculet and Lucas González Amorosino are back from France to start in the back-three while the Racing Métro contrated Tomás Lavanini will start in the second-row with Matías Alemanno. All are expected to feature against Ireland and Scotland.

Although Argentina's team is stronger than the team from the same fixture in 2013 Chile's team is not. Internal problems in Chile are yet to be resolved which have seen the test team suffer in losing against Brazil and also losing against Uruguay by a record margin. Chile is to be without European based players including Sergio Valdes who is to start the Pro d2 final on Sunday for Agen against La Rochelle. The winner will win promotion to the Top 14. 


Hernán Amigo
Bruno Postiglioni
Felipe Burgos
Julián Montoya
Nikola Bursic
Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
Tomás Dabovich
Tomás Lavanini
Martín Fernández
Matías Alemanno
Juan Ignacio Forttes
Javier Ortega Desio
Jan Hassenlechner
Lisando Ahualli de Chazal
Daniel Jamett
Antonio Ahualli de Chazal
Juan Pablo Larenas
Martín Landajo
Cristóbal Niedmann
Nicolás Sánchez
Matías Nordenflycht
Lucas González Amorosino
Cristian Onetto
Javier Rojas
Roberto Oyarzún
Gabriel Ascárate
Anton Petrowitsch
Ramiro Moyano
Luis Sepúlveda
Joaquín Tuculet
Ignacio Silva
Matías Cortese
Benjamín Soto
Lucas Noguera Paz
Ernesto Ugarte
Santiago Iglesias Valdez
Sebastián Valech
Lucas Ponce
Vicente Veloso
Lucas Maguire
Nicolás Venegas
Felipe Ezcurra
Martín Verschae
Jerónimo De la Fuente
Italo Zunino
Santiago Cordero

No comments:

Post a Comment