Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Los Pumitas: Thirty man squad to face Baby Boks

Photo UAR
Pato Fernández will play for Pumitas
The UAR has released a list of thirty junior players to tour South Africa next month. Los Pumitas are to play a three match tour and look to defend the series title won in 2013 when the Argentine side defeated the Baby Boks to win the series in Argentina. The team is coached by Rodolfo Ambrosio and Nicolás Fernández Lobbe. The tour will be a warm-up for the 2014 IRB Junior World Championship to be played in New Zealand in June.

Included in the thirty man squad are thirteen returning players from the 2013 IRB Junior World Championship in France. There are also players to have played for Argentine teams at higher levels including capped test matches in the South American Championship, Rugby Sevens and for Los Pampas XV. Pampas XV fly half Pato Fernández is one of three players that won the Pacific Cup included in the squad. Joining the Rosario number 10 is Tomás Ramirez and Guido Petti Pagadizabal.  

In an encouraging sign for the future of Argentine rugby is that 80% of the players named in the squad are regulars for their clubs at senior level. The players have been involved in training at their respective regional centres. 

Match Schedule
May 2 South Africa v Argentina, Saldanha Rugby Club, Saldanha
May 6 South Africa v Argentina, Paul Roos, Stellenbosch
May 10 South Africa v Argentina, City Park, Cape Town 

Pumitas Squad
1 Ignacio Albornoz, Tucumán RC, Tucumán, Fullback
2 Santiago Álvarez Fourcade CASI URBA Centre
3 Felipe Arregui Duendes RC Rosario Prop
4 Lautaro Bávaro Hindú Club URBA Back-row
5 Lautaro Bazán Vélez Córdoba Athletic Cordobesa Scrum-half
6 Juan Bernardini Urú Curé Cordobesa Scrum-half
7 Emiliano Boffelli Duendes RC Rosario Centre
8 Ignacio Calas La Tablada Cordobesa Second-row
9 Ignacio Calles Liceo Naval URBA Hooker
10 José Deheza Jockey Club Cordobesa Back-row
11 Ariel Del Cerro La Plata RC URBA Prop
12 Rodrigo Etchart SIC URBA Wing
13 Bautista Ezcurra Hindú Club URBA Centre
14 Patricio Fernández Jockey Club Rosario Fly half
15 Facundo Gigena Tala RC Cordobesa Prop
16 Federico Giménez Liceo RC Cuyo Wing
17 Tomás Granella Liceo RC Cuyo Fly half
18 Ignacio Larrague CASI URBA Second-row
19 Tomás Lezana Santiago Lawn Tennis Santiagueña Back-row
20 Domingo Miotti Tucumán Lawn Tennis Tucumán Fly half
21 Santiago Montagner Asociación Alumni URBA Back-row
22 Pedro Ortega Universitario Rosario Second-row
23 Guido Petti Pagadizabal SIC URBA Second-row
24 Enrique Pieretto Córdoba Athletic Cordobesa Prop
25 Santiago Portillo Los Tarcos Tucumán Back-row
26 Tomás Ramírez Jockey Club Cordobesa Prop
27 Joaquín Riera Los Tarcos Tucumán Fullback
28 Vittorio Rosti Duendes RC Rosario Second-row
29 Juan Ignacio Sánchez Córdoba Athletic Cordobesa Hooker
30 Germán Schulz Tala RC Cordobesa Wing

No comments:

Post a Comment