Sunday, March 9, 2014

Pampas XV Change Twelve for Samoa A

Crédito: Fernando Moroni/UAR
Los Pampas XV coaches Martín Gaitán and Raúl Pérez have continued with the policy of player rotation in naming a vastly different team to take to the field against Samoa A in the round three match of the Pacific Cup on Tuesday. In total twelve different players will start for the Argentine side compared to the players who started in the win over the A team of the New South Wales Waratahs on Friday. 

The extent of the changes made can be seen throughout the team as only three players have been retained from the round two fixture. Lucas Noguera Paz will hold on to the loosehead prop position and will be joined by Los Pumitas under 20 hooker from last year, Santiago Iglesias Valdez and Ramiro Herrea. Behind them Tomás Lavanini and Matías Alemanno have been replaced by Guido Petti and Lucas Ponce who have both earned their first starts in the Pacific Cup. 

More familiar names have been selected in the back-row with Rodrigo Báez and Facundo Isa joining former Puma Rodrigo Bruno. Javier Ortega Desio who started against the Waratahs A side will provide cover from the bench. He is to be part of a noteworthy list of replacements as Matías Cortese, Bruno Postiglioni and Lavanini will also provide cover. 

The backs feature five changes with one being Martín Landajo returning and regaining the captaincy from Tomás Cubelli. He will reform a 9-10 combination with Javier Rojas whom has been used previously as an inside centre, including an appearance from the bench against Italy last November. He replaces Santiago González Iglesias who is on the bench. 

With Rojas playing at fly half Jerónimo de la Fuente retains his starting position in the mid-field. He is to form a centre combination with Matías Orlando who moves from the wing to centre. Starting on the wings will be Tomás Carrió and Ramiro Moyano while Santiago Cordero has been named to return to the team at fullback. 

The match will be played at the Royal Military College in Canberra on Tuesday. Kick-off will be 2am Argentine time. 

Pampas XV
1 Lucas Noguera Paz

2 Santiago Iglesias Valdez
3 Ramiro Herrera
4 Guido Petti
5 Lucas Ponce
6 Rodrigo Bruno
7 Rodrigo Báez
8 Facundo Isa
9 Martín Landajo
10 Javier Rojas
11 Tomás Carrió
12 Jerónimo De la Fuente
13 Matías Orlando
14 Ramiro Moyano
15 Santiago Cordero

Reserves: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Julián Montoya, 18 Bruno Postiglioni, 19 Tomás Lavanini, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Román Miralles

1 comment:

  1. The pack looks a lot more light weight this time around.
    Who do you think will win Paul?