Friday, March 21, 2014

Pacific Cup: Pampas XV team named for final

Manuel Montero will start the final
Pampas XV coaches Martín Gaitán and Raúl Pérez have named their starting fifteen to take on the Queensland Reds A in the Pacific Cup final on Sunday. The side features three changes from that of the starting fifteen which defeated Tonga A in the final round match on Wednesday. There are some surprizes, such as the non-selection of Santiago Cordero, Facundo Isa and Javier Rojas. 

Starting in the front-row will be Lucas Noguera Paz, Bruno Postiglioni and former Gloucester hooker Matías Cortese. The ex-Gloucester player has been oner of the most impressive for the Argentine side in the competition. It has come at a good time given the questions that have been raised over Argentina´s depth in that particular position. 

Behind them will be Matías Alemanno and Tomás Lavanini in the second-row. The young pairing has proven to be the first choice combination in the Pacific Cup and both are likely to receive game time for Los Pumas this year. The starting back-row has Tomás de La Vega, Rodrigo Báez and Antonio Ahualli de Chazal, three more players with potential whom Daniel Hourcade will certainly be considering for the June internationals against Ireland and Scotland. 

Captaining the side will be Martín Landajo who is to form a starting halves combination with nineteen year old Patricio Fernández. Playing outside Fernández will be the mid-field combination of Jerónimo de La Fuente and Matías Moroni, two players to have impressed for Argentina in Rugby Sevens. The starting back-three is to involve Manuel Montero, Ramiro Moyano and Román Miralles. 

The replacement players are yet to be confirmed and will be made public on Saturday morning. The final is to be played in Sydney´s TG Milner Stadium with a 1am kick-off Argentine time on Sunday March 23. 

Pampas XV
1 Lucas Noguera Paz

2 Matías Cortese
3 Bruno Postiglioni
4 Matías Alemanno
5 Tomás Lavanini
6 Rodrigo Báez
7 Tomás De la Vega
8 Antonio Ahualli de Chazal
9 Martín Landajo (captain)
10 Patricio Fernández
11 Manuel Montero 
12 Jerónimo De la Fuente
13 Matías Moroni
14 Ramiro Moyano
15 Román Miralles

No comments:

Post a Comment