Friday, January 24, 2014

Rodrigo Capó Ortega signs new two year contract with Castres

Photo ESPN Scrum
Thirty-three year old Rodrígo Capó Ortega has agreed to terms with Top 14 club Castres Olympique to play a further two seasons for the club. The veteran second-rower has made well over two hundred appearances for the 2013 French champions since 2004 and arrived in France in 2002. 

Capó Ortega arrived in France over a decade ago and will remain there until after Rugby World Cup 2015. During his time he was won the French championship and earned the accolade of being the best Uruguayan rugby player of all time. Despite being into his thirties he has a lot of rugby ahead of him with both further club duty and international honors awaiting him this year. 

So far this season he has played in twelve of the sixteen rounds of the Top 14, starting all matches. He has also featured for Castres in the Heineken Cup though the club wll play no further part in the European competition this season after having been eliminated. As such Castres will be able to concentrate entirely on retaining the Bouclier de Brennus. The club will lose players to international duty during the Six Nations while Capó Ortega could be missing in March. His last test match appearance came in 2009 against the USA in Florida with the home side securing qualification for Rugby World Cup 2011. 

Capó Ortega decided not to represent Uruguay in the repercharge qualification phase for Rugby World Cup 2011 due to ongoing problems between the union and his Montevideo club, Carrasco Polo. Since then he is yet to return to the national team but there have been reports that this is set to change this year. He has earned a total of thirty-seven caps thus in his carreer which began against Chile in 2000. Four of his caps came in Rugby World Cup 2003 where he scored a try against Samoa.

2014 is to be a crucial year for Uruguayan rugby. Los Teros are to face the USA in March in a home and away series with the winner, on aggregate, advancing to Rugby World Cup 2015 as Americas 2. The loser will not be eliminated but will face a difficult task to secure qualification and, if sucessful, willl compete in the Pool of Death which will involve matches against both England and Wales at the respective home stadiums in addition to facing Australia and a qualifier from Oceania, likely 2007 Quarter Finalists Fiji.   

No comments:

Post a Comment