Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Pumas side named to face Australia in Rosario

Felipe Contepomi in 2000
Felipe Contepomi will become the most capped Argentine test player of all time this coming Saturday when he starts at inside centre against the Wallabies at inside centre. The 36 year old will play his final ever test for Argentina in what is his sixteenth season of international duty. 

Contepomi replaces Santiago Fernández is one of two changes to the team from that which started against New Zealand in La Plata on Saturday. The second change to the team sees Horacio Agulla return to start on the right wing in place of Lucas González Amorosino. As such the same forwards will start and therefore  Julio Farías Cabello will again wear the number 4 shirt ahead of Rosario´s own Manuel Carizza. With Leonardo Senatore suspended the Rosario contingent is smaller than what might have been suspected but there will be one home town player in the run-on XV in the form of Juan Imhoff. 

In comparison to the team that played in the same match in the 2012 Rugby Championship the team selected by Santiago Phelan is much fresher with five players - Juan Figallo, Pablo Matera, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Nicolás Sánchez and Juan Martín Hernández being the only ones to have started every match. 

1 Marcos Ayerza, 2 Eusebio Guiñazú, 3 Juan Figallo
(Leicester, England), (Bath, England), (Montpellier, France)
4 Julio Farías Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete
(Tucumán, Argentina), (Toulouse, France)
6 Juan Fernández Lobbe, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Pablo Matera
(Toulon, France, (Lyon, France), (Alumni, Argentina)

9 Martín Landajo, 10 Nicolás Sánchez
(CASI, Argentina), (Bordeaux-Begles,  France)
12 Felipe Contepomi, 13 Marcelo Bosch
(Newman, Argentina), (Saracens, England)
11 Juan Imhoff, 15 Juan Martín Hernández, 14 Horacio Agulla
(Racing Métro, France), (Racing Métro, France), (Bath, England)

16 Agustín Creevy (Worcester, England)
17 Nahuel Lobo (Newcastle Falcons, England)
18 Juan Pablo Orlandi (Bath, England)
19 Mariano Galarza (Worcester, England)
20 Benjamín Macome (Tucumán, Argentina)
21 Tomás Cubelli (Belgrano, Argentina)
22 Santiago Fernández (Unattached)
23  Lucas González Amorosino (Unattached)

No comments:

Post a Comment