Thursday, October 10, 2013

Joaquín Tuculet to lead Los Jagures against the USA

Los Jaguares head coach Daniel Hourcade has named the Argentine for the debut match in the Americas Rugby Championship on Friday. The Argentine A side will be lead by 24 year old Joaquín Tuculet who was in the Pumas squad for the 2013 Rugby Championship.

The five time capped former Sale Sharks and Grenoble outside back will be joined in the starting lineup by Matías Díaz who also featured for Argentina in the world´s toughest rugby competition this year. The side is otherwise one made up of players who have been used previously but never in the senior Pumas side. The starting front-row will see Díaz joined by two players who have been used in June when Argentina has been without it´s leading players. Bruno Postiglioni and Martín García Veiga will have a chance to press their respective claims for a spot on the November tour. 

Argentina´s leading wingers at senior level are Gonzalo Camacho and Juan Imhoff. They will both have uncapped brothers starting against the USA A side but in opther positions. Joaquín Camacho is to start in the back-row while Pedro Imhoff is to be the starting scrum-half. Also of note in the starting line up are three  other backs who have the potential to join Tuculet in the Pumas squad possibly at Rugby World Cup 2015. Starting fly half Sebastián Poet has had success at the junior level while Matías Orlando and Javier Rojas have been good centres for Los Pampas XV. Orlando will play wing - the position he is likely to have an international future in. 

The selection of Poet to start this match ahead of Patricio Fernández is a sign of Poet´s quality as Fernández is widely considered as being certain for the Pumas squad this November. Fernández will likely replace Poet for the subsequent matches. He is on the bench for Friday´s match and is joined by other players with potential.  

1 Bruno Postiglioni, 2 Martín García Veiga, 3 Matías Díaz
4 Matías Alemanno, 5 Guido Petti Pagadizabal
6 Joaquín Camacho, 8 Francisco Chiappesoni, 7 Martín Chiappesoni

9 Pedro Imhoff, 10 Sebastián Poet
12 Javier Rojas, 13 Juan Ignacio Brex
11 Matías Orlando, 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Facundo Barrea
15- Joaquín Tuculet (capitán)

16 Julián Montoya

17 Roberto Tejerizo
18 Esteban Viale
19 Juan Martín Gueurineau
20 Fidel Lamy
21 Gonzalo Bertranou
22 Patricio Fernández
23 Dan Isaack

The games will be broadcast live and can be viewed online here.

1 comment:

  1. the back line looks sweet. plenty of tries if their hands work well.

    but this has to be the most light weight Argentine pack I've ever seen at any level of national representation!