Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Canada name squad for the New Zealand Maori All Blacks

Rugby Canada Confirm Squad

Canadian international rugby head coach Kieran Crowley has named a twenty-six man squad for the first match of the end of year tour which sees Canada play host to the touring Maori All Blacks, formerly known as the New Zealand Maori. The match will be played on Sunday November 3 at the unofficial home venue for the test side, BMO Field in Toronto. 

The squad is a combination of positive and unfortunate news. Captaining the side will be the normal leader, Aaron Carptener who along with his club teammate Matt Evans has been relased for the match from his English club, the Cornish Pirates. The Ospreys duo of Tyler Ardron and Jeff Hassler have also both been made available for the match as has the French based Jon Phelan and the New Zealand based Hubert Buydens. They are the big names in the squad which also includes familiar Canadian based names such as Adam Kleeberger, Nanyak Dala, John Moonlight, Ray Barkwill and Conor Trainor. There is, however, no place for Chauncey O´Toole who recently tweeted his interest in making a return.

O´Toole will not face the Maori and nor with eleven players who are sidelines through injury or who have not been released by their European clubs for this non-international fixture. As such none of Canada´s four marquee plaeyrs will face the New Zealand side as Jamie Cudmore, Jebb Sinclair, DTH van der Merwe and James Pritchard are all excluded from the squad for the time being.

Canadian Squad to face the Maori
Tyler Ardron, (Ospreys, Wales)
Ray Barkwill, (Ontario Blues)
Nick Blevins, (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Connor Braid, (BC Bears)
Hubert Buydens, (Manawatu Turbos, New Zealand)
Aaron Carpenter, (Cornish Pirates, England)
Nanyak Dala, (Prairie Wolf Pack) 
Matt Evans, (Cornish Pirates, England)
Aaron Flagg, (BC Bears) 
Kyle Gilmour, (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Jeff Hassler, (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Ciaran Hearn, (The Rock)
Jake Illnicki, (Auckland Colts, New Zealand)
Harry Jones, (BC Bears)
Adam Kleeberger, (BC Bears)
Phil Mack, (BC Bears) 
Jamie Mackenzie, (Ontario Blues)
Ryan March, (BC Bears) 
John Moonlight, (Ontario Blues) 
Pat Parfrey, (The Rock)
Jon Phelan, (Lille Métropole Rugby, France)
Mike Scholz, (Ontario Blues)
Andrew Tiedemann, (Prairie Wolf Pack) 
Conor Trainor, (BC Bears)
Liam Underwood, (Ontario Blues) 
Doug Wooldridge, (Ontario Blues)
Unavailable for Maori clash 
Brett Beukeboom, (Plymouth Albion, England)
Jamie Cudmore, (Clermont Auvergne, France)
Tom Dolezel, (Ontario Blues)
Sean Duke, (BC Bears)
Nathan Hirayama, (BC Bears)
Tyler Hotson, (London Scottish, England)
Phil Mackenzie, (Sale Sharks, England)
Jason Marshall, (Atlantique Stade Rochelais, France)
James Pritchard, (Bedford Blues, England) 
Jebb Sinclair, (London Irish, England)
DTH Van Der Merwe, (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)

After facing the New Zealand side in Toronto Canada will embark on a three match tour of Europe which will see Canada put its 14th place on the line as it faces the lower ranked Georgia, Romania and Portugal. It is an ideal tour two years out from the Rugby World Cup and one in which Canada can win every test match. Matches against the European sides will all be played on Saturday afternoons on the dates of November 9, 16 and 23. 

No comments:

Post a Comment