Tuesday, January 15, 2013

2013 Rugby Championship Fixtures Underline Argentina´s RWC Hosting Credentials

Photo: UAR

The venues for the twelve matches in the 2013 Rugby Championship have been confirmed. While each union had made noises and some had confirmed where they would host matches now everything is confirmed. The tournament is to follow the same model from 2012 with Argentina starting off by visiting South Africa the hosting the Springboks, touring New Zealand and Australia and, lastly, hosting the Oceania nations in South America. The venues for Argentina´s home matches are also unchanged from 2012. The same three stadiums will be used in the same order - Mendoza will host South Africa on August 24, La Plata will host New Zealand on September September 28 and Rosario will host Australia on October 05. All matches will be played on Saturday throughout the tournament. 
Changes from 2012 see Australia hosting South Africa in Brisbane rather than Perth while Argentina will play in Perth rather than the Gold Coast. New Zealand´s three home matches will be different to 2012. Australia will play in Wellington rather than Auckland, Argentina will play in Hamilton rather than Wellington and South Africa will play in Auckland rather than Dunedin. The Springbkos homes matches are also to be different with South Africa hosting Argentina in Bloemfontein rather than Cape Town, Australia in Cape Town rather than Pretoria and New Zealand at Johannesburg´s Ellis Park rather than Soccer City. 
Ulike the majority of the Six Nations´ Unions, the four countries that make up The Rugby Championship utilize venues across a variety of cities. The Six Nations is always played at the same Six venues while The 2013 Rugby Championship will have every  game played at a different stadium. Of the four unions only Argentina has not hosted a Rugby World Cup. 2013 will again underline the credentials of bringing Rugby World Cup 2023 to Argentina as its spreads its matches and, like 2012, is sure to attract strong crowds. Argentina is also to host England and Georgia in June with the venues yet to be announced. The UAR has indicated that the tests will be played in three of Mar del Plata, Salta, Santa Fé and Tucumán. England, in contrast, will host Rugby Wordl Cup 2015 despite not moving a match outside of London since 1997.

Rugby Champtionship Fixtures
August 17 Australia vs. New Zealand (ANZ Stadium, Sydney) 
August 17 South Africa v Argentina (Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein) 
August 24 New Zealand v Australia (Westpac Stadium, Wellington)  
August 24 Argentina v South Africa (Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza) 
September 07 Australia v South Africa (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane) 
September 07 New Zealand v Argentina (Waikato Stadium, Hamilton) 
September 14 Australia v Argentina (Patersons Stadium, Perth) 
September 14 New Zealand v South Africa (Eden Park, Auckland) 
September 28 South Africa v Australia (DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town)
September 28 Argentina v New Zealand (Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, La Plata)
October 05 South Africa v New Zealand (Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
October 05 Argentina vs. Australia (Estadio Gigante de Arroyito, Rosario)

2012 Highlights

1 comment:

  1. Very great writing 2013 Rugby Championship Fixtures Underline Argentina´s RWC Hosting Credentials I appreciate your nice presentation. Thanks : DHL