Monday, November 12, 2012

Hindú wins URBA Top 14 Final

Buenos Aires´s Hindú club has produced countless Pumas players over the years. The current squad touring Europe continues the tradition with the likes of Horacio Agulla and Santiago Fernández both being from the club.Other notable players include Patricio Noriega, Lucas Ostiglia, Gonzalo Quesada and Martín Scelzo. The club has achieved tremendous success and it in the tweny-first century it has established itself as a dominant force with five URBA Championship titles since 2006. It´s win over La Plata on Saturday continues the legacy. It´s fifth win in seven years makes Hindú the most successful team of the past decade. Overall it is the sixth most successful team in the history of URBA behind CASI, SIC, Universitario, Belgrano and Buenos Aires FC. Since 1996 Hindu has won all seven of its titles. In the same period CASI has won only once while SIC has been a seven time champion and since 2000 Hindú and SIC have won five titles each. 

The final featured a number of fringe Pumas players from the past and present. La Plata had Mauricio Guidone at hooker, Tomás Roán in the secondrow and Francisco Albarracín at scrumhalf. Hindú fielded Juan Ignacio Gauthier and Francisco Bosch in the centres and Lucas Camacho on the wing. Camacho is the younger brother of Pumas winger Gonzalo Camacho.


No comments:

Post a Comment