Sunday, November 18, 2012

Fernández and Bustos replace Agulla, Amorosino and Figallo in Pumas squad

Photo UAR: Martin Seras Lima
 Nahuel Lobo, ball carrier, may earn first test start v Ireland
Argentine international Head Coach, Santiago Phelan has called up the Montpellier pair of centre Santiago Fernández and tighthead prop Maximilano Bustos for the third and final match of the November Internationals. While two players have been added to the squad three have been removed. Horacio Agulla remains in observation following his frightening head clash with French centre Maxime Mermoz while two other Montpellier players have been liberated - tighthead prop Juan Figallo and fullback Lucas González Amorosino. All three of the players released started against France in Lille on Saturday evening. As such there will be at least three changes to the Pumas starting lineup to take the field against Ireland next Saturday.   

Juan Martín Hernández is expected to return to start at fullback whle Agulla´s place is certain to be  taken by Gonzalo Camacho. The interesting selection will be that of tighthead prop. Juan Figallo started all six matches of The Rugby Championship in the position and also started there against Wales and France. Maximilano Bustos was the third choice player at Rugby World Cup 2011 in the position behind Figallo and the retired Martín Scelzo. He was also in the squad throughout most of The Rugby Championship but remains uncapped. His chance would appear to be this weekend against Ireland. Other players in contention are Francisco Gómez Kodela and Nahuel Lobo, both came off the bench against France this weekend. Gómez Kodela also featured in the June tests in the position but was not selected for The Rugby Championship. Lobo was used as a loosehead to replace Marcos Ayerza in his test debut yesterday. 

Complete Argentine Squad to face Ireland

Marcos AyerzaLeicester TigersEngland

Marcelo BoschBiarritz OlympiqueFrance

Maximilano BustosMontpellierFrance

Gonzalo CamachoExeter ChiefsEngland

Manuel CarizzaRacing MétroFrance

Santiago CorderoRegatas de Bella VistaArgentina

Agustín CreevyMontpellierFrance

Tomás CubelliBelgrano AthleticArgentina

Tomás De La VegaCUBAArgentina

Julio Farías CabelloTucumán R. CArgentina

Juan Martín Fernández LobbeToulonFrance

Santiago FernándezMontpellierFrance

Francisco Gómez KodelaBiarritz OlympiqueFrance

Eusebio GuiñazúSouthern KingsSth Africa

Juan Cruz GuillemáinStade FrançaisFrance

Juan Martín HernándezRacing MétroFrance

Juan ImhoffRacing MétroFrance

Martin LandajoCASIArgentina

Juan Manuel LeguizamónLyon OUFrance

Tomás LeonardíSICArgentina

Nahuel LoboMontpellierFrance

Manuel MonteroPucuráArgentina

Bruno PostiglinoLa PlataArgentina

Nicolás SánchezBordeaux BeglesFrance

Leonardo SenatoreGimnasia y EsgrimaArgentina

Gonzalo TiesiSICArgentina

Joaquín TuculetGrenobleFrance

Tomás Vallejos CinalliScarletsWales

Nicolás VergalloSouthern KingsSth Africa

No comments:

Post a Comment