Saturday, October 27, 2012

Canada name Squad for November Internationals

Following the completion of the 2012 Americas Rugby Championship last weekend in British Columbia in which Canada A finished second behind Los Jaguares, Kieran Crowley has named a squad for Canada´s three match tour of the UK. Canada will play a test match against Tier Two rivals in the Northern Wales city of Colwyn Bay. What could be a classic match up between two teams who have delivered good results in previous editions of the Rugby World Cup will not be shown to a home crowd for either team. The choice of the venue is extremely surprizing but the match will nonetheless go ahead. Canada will also face Russia at the same venue before facing the New Zealand Maori in the English city of Oxford in what is a non-international.  

While the Welsh national team plays exclusively at the Millenium Stadium the Parc Eirias will in Colwyn Bay will host matches in what has been dubbed the The IRB International Series. Other matches that cuold be played in North America will take place at the venue such as the USA v Russia, which will be played on the same day as Canada v Samoa and Tonga v USA will be also be a double header with Canada v Russia being played on the same day. In contrast Canada toured Belgium, Georgia, Portugal and Spain in 2010 while the USA visited Georgia, Portugal and Scotland. 

The make up of the Canadian squad is a combination of youth and experience but there is a noticeable lack of depth with Clermont Auvergne´s Jamie Cudmore not in the squad. There is also no Conor Trainor, Ander Monro, Adam Kleeberger or DTH van der Merwe. Curiously not all are missing due to injury. 

Match Schedule

Friday November 09 Canada v Samoa, Colwyn Bay
Saturday November 17 Canada v Russia, Colwyn Bay
Friday November 23 Canada v NZ Maori, Oxford

Canadian Squad

Ray Barkwill (Ontario Blues)
Ryan Hamilton (Pacific Tyee)
Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Jason Marshall (Aurillac, France)
Andrew Tiedemann (FC Auch Gers, France)
Doug Wooldridge (Ontario Blues)
Tyler Hotson (London Scottish, England)
Jebb Sinclair (Western Province, South Africa)
Jon Phelan (The Rock)
Brett Beukeboom (Plymouth Albion, England)
Nanyak Dala (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Aaron Carpenter (Plymouth Albion, England)
Tyler Ardron (Ontario Blues)
Chauncey O’Toole (The Rock)
Scrum Half
Phil Mack (Pacific Tyee)
Sean White (Pacific Tyee)
Fly Half
Harry Jones (Pacific Tyee)
Connor Braid (Pacific Tyee)
Nick Blevins (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Jeff Hassler (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Phil Mackenzie (London Welsh, England)

Ciaran Hearn (The Rock)
Taylor Paris (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
John Moonlight (Ontario Blues)

Matt Evans (Cornish Pirates, England)
James Pritchard (Bedford Blues, England)

Possible Starting XV v Samoa
15 James Pritchard
14 Taylor Paris
13 Nick Blevins
12 Phil MacKenzie
11 Matt Evans
10 Conor Braid
9 Sean White
8 Aaron Carpenter (Captain)
Chauncey O’Toole
Nanyak Dala
5 Tyler Hotson
4 Jebb Sinclair
3 Jason Marshall
2 Ryan Hamilton,
Hubert Buydens

No comments:

Post a Comment