Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Who will be in the team to face South Africa?

Foto: Presencia de lujo en el primer entrenamiento de Los Pumas de la semana. Graham Henry se hizo presente en el anexo del SIC. El Asesor Técnico de Alto Rendimiento de la UAR trabajó con el Staff de entrenadores y permanecerá en el país durante una semana.
Santiago Phelan and Graham Henry
Argentina´ long awaited debut in The Rugby Championship is less than three weeks away. The teams intensive preperation in the USA and at home has see the players spend more time together than at tany other time outside of a World Cup. The squad features 34 players and having spent so much time together the team should be very well drilled ahead of the debut match against South Africa on August 18 in Cape Town. Exactly who will be in the starting lineup remains undefined and this should be a lot clearer after Argentina completes its two friendly matches against Stade Français. The first match will take place this coming Saturday at Velez Sarsfeld in Buenos Aires. The following Saturday will see the second match with the teams playing in Santa Fé. Santiago Phelan has one concern heading into the two match series with Juan Leguizamón having suffered a minor injury in training on Monday. The extent of the injury is yet to be concerned, however there are concerns that he may miss the Cape Town test match. 

15 Lucas González Amorosino
14 Martín Bustos Moyano
13 Horacio Agulla
12 Santiago Fernández
11 Juan Imhoff
10 Juan Martín Hernández
9 Nicolás Vergallo
8 Juan Fernández Lobbe
7 Juan Leguizamón
6 Tomás De La Vega
5 Patricio Albacete
4 Manuel Carizza
3 Juan Figallo
2 Agustín Creevy
1 Marcos Ayerza

16 Bruno Postiglioni
17 Rodrigo Roncero
18 Julio Farías Cabello
19 Leonardo Senatore
20 Tomás Cubelli
21 Marcelo Bosch
22 Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga


Curiously, Argentine site scrum asked five Argentine players past and present who they think should be the starting XV for The Rugby Championship and all agreed that Agustín Creevy, Patricio Albacete, Julio Farías Cabello, Juan Leguizamón, Juan Fernández Lobbe, Juan Figallo, Horacio Agulla and Juan Martín Hernández should start. None of them named Gonzalo Camacho despite him being Phelan´ prefered option for the right wing. Horacio Agulla was the favorite but he may well play at centre rather than wing given his form, size, experience and leadership. Camacho would appear the front runner for the 14 shirt with it going to either him or Martín Bustos Moyano who is the best goalkicker. There were also a noticable number of Los Pampas XV players nominated ahead of European professionals. 

Former three time World Cup back Manuel Contepomi who was the starting outside centre at Rugby World Cup 2007 named Santiago Fernández as the teams 13.  he also selected Martín Landajo at scrumhalf over the squads two European based players. He named the following XV:

1 Rodrigo Roncero, 2 Agustín Creevy, 3 Juan Figallo, 4 Patricio Albacete, 5 Manuel Carizza, 6 Julio Farías, 7 Juan Leguizamón, 8 Juan Fernández Lobbe, 9 Martín Landajo, 10 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Juan Imhoff, 12 Martín Rodríguez, 13 Santiago Fernández 14 Horacio Agulla, 15 Lucas González Amorosino.

With Thanks: scrum

No comments:

Post a Comment