Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Los Jaguares 33-9 Russia

Photo: UAR

After a tryless firsthalf in which Russia did plenty to underline its growing reputation as a team for the future, Los Jaguares took the match by the horns after the interval to run away with a 33-9 victory in Bucharest. It was the final game of the IRB Nations Cup for the two sides, played on Sunday to close out the tournament which was won by the host nation, Romania. The match turned around with Los Jaguares´ three secondhalf tries scored by Nicolás Basile, Marcos Bollini and Lucas Ponce. Benjamín Madero converted all three tries while Santiago González Iglesias scored four penalties. 

Such is the increasing depth of Argentine players that Los Jaguares finished second in the IRB Nations Cup and Argentina have completed wins over Italy and France this month despite the Pumas team being the replacements and the Los Jaguares players being a third choice team. Los Jaguares won two out of three matches at the tournament, starting with a win over Portugal and finishing with a win over Russia. The teams loss, vs Romania was a tight one and was the difference between the Europeans and South Americans winning the tournament.  

Sunday´s match in Bucharest also saw Los Jaguares dressed in a skyblue strip which has been rumoured to be the same as the one to be used by Los Pumas in The Rugby Championship. It is the same as the one that Los Pumitas have been wearing at the ongoing IRB Junior World Championship in South Africa.
Los Jaguares
1 Roberto Tejerizo, 2 Matías Cortese, 3 Gastón Cortés; 4 Felipe Aranguren, 5 César Fruttero; 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Martín Chiappesoni, 8 Lisandro Ahualli de Chazal; 9 Santiago Méndez, 10 Santiago González Iglesias (Captain), 11 Franco Sábato, 12 Javier Rojas, 13 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 14 Fernando Luna, 15 Ramiro Moyano.


1 Sergey Popov, 2 Valery Tsnobiladze, 3 Evgeny Pronenko, 4 AlexanderVoytov (Captain), 5 Denis Antonov, 6 Artem Fatakhov, 7 Pavel Butenko, 8 Victor Gresev, 9 Alexander Shakirov, 10 Sergey Sugrobov, 11 Mikhail Babaev, 12 Alexey Makovetskiy, 13 Sergey Trishin, 14 Ivan Kotov,15 Andrey Otrokov.

No comments:

Post a Comment