Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Argentina change seven to face France in Tucumán

Los Pumas Headcoach, Santiago Phelan has made a massive seven changes to his starting XV for the team to take on France in the second test vs France to be played this Saturday in Tucumán. Argentina are coming off five wins in a row after defeating Chile, Brazil, Uruguay, Italy and France in international matches in 2012. The changes to the lineup represent his willingness to give all squad members a start in the June Internationals and his desire to be sure of which players should join the 24 already named and in preperation for The Rugby Championship. The match will, again, be officiated by Ireland´s George Clancy. 

New Scrumhalf: Tomás Cubelli
The wholesale changes see a new halves pairing with Tomás Cubelli selected to start at scrumhalf and Benjamin Urdapilleta to play flyhalf. Felipe Contepomi retains the captaincy and the inside centre position as the only player in the team to have played the first two tests in the same position and to stay there for the third. He is being used now due to the 24 missing players and, also, because he will not play in The Rugby Championship so will be rested in July before returning to France to train with Stade Français ahead of the 2012-2013 season. Contepomi will be joined by a third outside centre in as many weeks with Agustín Gosio named in the position, replacing Joaquín Tuculet who did so well vs France in Córdoba. Tuculet, however is still in the starting lineup as he returns to his favored position of fullback. Despite scoring a try in Córdoba and also impressing vs Italy, Belisario Agulla has been rested for this test, with Facundo Barrea taking his spot in the 14 shirt. Manuel Montero retains the left wing position after scoring the match winning try late in the first test. Only two backs have been selected on the bench with scrumhalf Martín Landajo and centre Gabriel Ascaraté. Contepomi is, therefore, to be used at flyhalf should Urdapilleta need replacing. 

Leonardo Senatore returns
The forwards see a new hooker with Andrés Bordoy set to make his first set start after debuting from the bench in Córdoba at the ripe old age of 29. He has been a professional rugby player for quite some time playing in France, but mostly in the Pro d2. He played the 2010-2011 season in the Top 14 for La Rochelle but now plays for Pau. He will join the Biarritz duo of Francisco Goméz Kodela and Eusebio Guiñazú in the frontrow with the three seemingly having realistic chances of making the squad for The Rugby Championship. Both Guiñazú and Bordoy can play either prop or hooker as can replacement Bruno Postiglioni  who will take his place on the bench alongside Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro. The pair started last weekends test. Esteban Lozada will start in the secondrow with Julio Farías Cabello joining him after he had played backrow in Córdoba. With Farías Cabello in the secondrow Argentina will field a backrow of three players who have all played strongly so far in June. Leonardo Senatore returns to wear the 8 shirt which sees Tomás Leonardí moved to 7 and Tomás de la Vega to 6. All three could well make the squad for The Rugby Championship. Rodrigo Báez is the bench´s backrower while, curiously, two secondrowers are on the bench with both Santaigo Guzmán and Benjamín Macome set to get game time. 


1 Eusebio Guiñazú (Biarritz, France) 2 Andrés Bordoy (Pau, France) 3 Francisco Gómez Kodela (Biarritz, France) 4 Julio Farías Cabello (Los Pampas XV) 5 Esteban Lozada (Agen, France) 6 Tomás De la Vega (Los Pampas XV) 7 Tomás Leonardi (Los Pampas XV) 8 Leonardo Senatore (Los Pampas XV) 9 Tomás Cubelli (Los Pampas XV) 10 Benjamín Urdapilleta (Oyonnax, France) 11 Manuel Montero (Los Pampas XV) 12 Felipe Contepomi (Stade Français, France) 13 Agustín Gosio (London Scottish, England) 14 Facundo Barrea (Los Pampas XV) 15 Joaquín Tuculet (Grenoble, France)
Reserves: 16 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro (Stade Français, France) 17 Bruno Postiglioni (Los Pampas XV) 18 Santiago Guzmán (Los Pampas XV) 19 Benjamín Macome (Los Pampas XV) 20 Rodrigo Báez (Los Pampas XV) 21 Martín Landajo (Los Pampas XV) 22 Gabriel Ascárate (Los Pampas XV)

1 comment:

  1. tHANKS FOR THE CHRONICLE...Thanks for your support.