Thursday, May 24, 2012

Los Jaguares Squad for IRB Nations Cup

Juan Pablo Socino named in squad
Argentina´s A side, known as Los Jaguares, has been confirmed for the upcoming IRB Nations Cup to be played in Bucharest, Romania between June 8 and June 17. The tournament is a strategic part of the IRB´s development of global rugby and sees Los Jaguares and Italy A compete alongside four test teams - Portugal, Russia, Uruguay and hosts Romania. Of the four Romania is officially a Second Tier rugby nation while the three others are considered to be developing and all have the potential to be included in the Second Tier. All have played in Rugby World Cup´s and two of the four are expected to qualify for Rugby World Cup 2015. 

The 26 man squad consists of players considered to be fringe players for Los Pumas but players who will not feature for the senior side in the June internationals. The vast majority of players are Argentine based with twelve players having played in the this seasons Vodacom Cup. Three players were playing for European clubs with the most interesting selection being that of Juan Pablo Socino who was named in the RFU Championship´s Dream Team as inside centre. Socino has returned to Argentina after requesting to be released from his contract with Nottingham in England´s second division. He had offers to play for other teams, most interestingly, Treviso in Italy. A move to Treviso was a part of the FIR looking to make use of Socino in the Italian national side for the teams troublesome position of flyhalf. Socino´s selection means he will now not ever be elligible to play for Italy. 

Los Jaguares are grouped with Portugal, Romania and Russia with the teams first match being against the Portuguese on June 08. The team will be targetting winning the tournament after having lost two matches last season against Portugal and Georgia. The champions in 2011 were the South African Kings while Georgia finished second and Los Jaguares were third. The Los Jaguares team is coached by Los Pampas XV headcoach Daniel Hourcade and assisted by Emiliano Bergamaschi. Los Jaguares Squad

1-Lisandro Ahualli de Chazal (Universitario-Tucumán)

2-Felipe Aranguren (CUBA-URBA)
3-Nicolás Azorin (Liceo Naval-URBA)
4-Nicolás Basile (Aurillac, France)
5-Marcos Bollini (Club Newman-URBA)
6-Martín Chiappesoni (Atlético del Rosario-URBA)
7-Matías Cortese (Gloucester, England)
8-Jerónimo De la Fuente (Duendes RC-Rosario)
9-Ezequiel Faralle (Huirapuca-Tucumán)
10-César Fruttero (Jockey Club de Villa María-Cordobesa)
11-Martín García Veiga (Buenos Aires C y RC-URBA)
12-Juan Gómez (Los Matreros-URBA)
13-Lisandro Gómez López (La Tablada-Cordobesa)
14-Santiago González Iglesias (Associación Alumni-URBA)
15-Fernando Luna (Córdoba Athletic-Cordobesa)
16-Benjamín Madero (San Isidro Club-URBA)
17-Matías Masera (Belgrano Athletic-URBA)
18-Santiago Méndez (San Isidro Club-URBA)
19-Ramiro Moyano (Lince RC-Tucumán)
20-Javier Ortega Desio (San Isidro Club-URBA)
21-Ignacio Pasman (Club Champagnat-URBA)
22-Francisco Piccinini (San Isidro Club-URBA)
23-Lucas Ponce (CUBA-URBA)
24-Javier Rojas (Universitario-Tucumán)
25-Juan Pablo Socino (Nottingham, England)
26-Roberto Tejerizo (Tucumán Lawn Tennis-Tucumán)

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.