Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Horacio Agulla, Gonzalo Camacho and Samu Manoa win awards in England

Aviva Premiership Game Changer of the Season: Gonzalo Camacho
Pumas wingers Horacio Agulla and Gonzalo Camacho have left a massive mark on English rugby this season with the World Cup 11 and 14 winning awards at the Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards held earlier tonight at the London Hilton in Park Lane, London, England. Agulla was included in the Dream Team, picked as the best right winger of the season. Camacho won the award for Game Changer of the season . The award is based on a points system which rewards players for the most effective performances each month according to the Opta index. The Argentine pair are certainties for the upcoming internationals vs Italy and France next month. Camacho´s season in England is over following the elimination of his club, the Exeter Chiefs who finished fifth to qualify for the Heineken Cup but missed out on making the Semi Finals of the Aviva Premiership. Agulla´s club, the Leicester Tigers will play in the Semi Finals vs Saracens on Saturday in a home match at Welford Road.

No to be left outdone the USA was also a winner with secondrower, Samu Manoa named in the dream team of the season. Manoa´s club, the Northampton Saints, will play against the Harlequins in the other Semi Final. the match will be played at the Stoop in London. The Califonian forward is certain to return to international duty for the USA Eagles afgter missing out on a place at the World Cup last year due to issues with his contract. He has since signed a long term deal and will be avaliable for his country in June. 

The winners and nominees in full were as follows:

Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
Winner: Chris Robshaw
Shortlist: Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), James Scaysbrook (Exeter Chiefs), Julian Salvi (Leicester Tigers) and Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)

Land Rover Discovery of the Season
Winner: Owen Farrell
Shortlist: Owen Farrell (Saracens) Jonathan Joseph (London Irish), Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Christian Wade (London Wasps) and Luke Wallace (Harlequins)

QBE Director of Rugby of the Season
Winner: Rob Baxter
Shortlist: Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs), Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers) and Conor O'Shea (Harlequins)

MBNA Try of the Season
Winner: Jonny May
Shortlist: Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby v Exeter Chiefs), Michael Claassens (Bath Rugby v London Irish), James Downey (Northampton Saints v Exeter Chiefs), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby v Harlequins), Alesana Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers v Northampton Saints), Christian Wade (London Wasps v Leicester Tigers), Luke Wallace (Harlequins v London Wasps)

Gatorade Game Changer of the Season
Winner: Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs)
Runners up: Andy Powell (Sale Sharks) - 2nd, Rob Miller (Sale Sharks) - 3rd.

Aviva Community Player of the Season
Winner: Bob Casey
Shortlist: Bob Casey (London Irish), Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints), Will Fraser (Saracens) and James Hudson (Newcastle Falcons)

J.P. Morgan Asset Management Premiership Rugby 7s Series Player of the Season
Winner: Luke Fielden

Shortlist: Danny Bibby (Sale Sharks), Ross Chisholm (Harlequins), Luke Fielden (Newcastle Falcons) and James Short (Saracens).

Guinness Top Try Scorer
Winner: Rob Miller (Sale Sharks) - 10 tries

Gilbert Golden Boot
Winner: Tom Homer (London Irish) - 253 points

ESPN Dream Team
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14 Horacio Agulla (Leicester)
13 George Lowe (Harlequins)
12 George Pisi (Northampton)
11 Alesana Tuilagi (Leicester)
10 Toby Flood (Leicester)
9 Hayden Thomas (Exeter)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)
7 James Scaysbrook (Exeter)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester)
4 Samu Manoa (Northampton)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester)
2 Schalk Britz (Saracens)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins) 

No comments:

Post a Comment