Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Scotland vs Argentina, November 2001

Rimas Alvarez Kairelis
A Felipe Contepomi mastershow was the theme of Argentina´s famous 25-16 victory over Scotland at Murrayfield in 2001. 

The then young flyhalf slotted six penalties and converted Ignacio Corleto´s try to show just why coach Marcelo Loffreda had opted for him to start in place of Gonzalo Quesada who was the Golden Boot of Rugby World Cup 1999. The 20 point haul came a week after Contepomi had scored 25 points in Argentina´s history making 30-16 win over Wales at the Millenium Stadium. On that occassion Contepomi had scored a try to silence the Cardiff crowd and put his name down in history as Los Pumas won for the first time at the home of Welsh rugby. The 2001 European tour made Welsh and Scottish fans take notice of Los Pumas and it also served as a testiment as to why Rugby World Cup 2023 should be hosted by Argentina. The significant accomplishment of defeating two of the home unions in their own backyards showed just how good Argentina was at rugby and that bigger things would come, as indeed they did in France 2007.

The win at Murrayfield was not Argentina´s first but it did come at a changing time for the South Americans. Seven of the starting lineup would play in Paris for the first match of Rugby World Cup 2007. It also featured a combination of professional and amateur players and of the professional players half had only just arrived in Europe. Fullback Ignacio Corleto was playing his first season as a professional for Narbonne, Rimas Alvarez Kairelis was playing his first of eleven seasons for Perpignan and Ignacio Fernández Lobbe was into his second season but his first with Castres. Gonzalo Longo became one of Argentina´s most respected forwards and went on to impress with Clermont but in 2001 he was still playing his rugby in Buenos Aires as were both his backrow partners.


15 Derrick Lee
14 Cammie Murray
13 James McLaren
12 John Leslie
11 Roland Reid
10 Gregor Townsend
9 Andy Nicol
8 Jon Petrie
7 Andrew Mower
6 Jason White
5 Stuart Grimes
4 Scott Murray
3 Mattie Stewart
2 Gordon Bulloch
1 Tom Smith (Captain)

15 Ignacio Corleto
14 Gonzalo Camardon
13 José Orengo
12 Lisandro Arbizu (Captain)
11 Diego Albanese
10 Felipe Contepomi
9 Agustin Pichot
8 Gonzalo Longo
7 Rolando Martín
6 Santiago Phelan
5 Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe
4 Rimas Alvarez Kairelis
3 Omar Hasan
2 Federico Mendez
1 Mauricio Reggiardo

No comments:

Post a Comment