Saturday, February 11, 2012

Rugby Sevens World Cup 2009 Final - Wales 19-12 Argentina

Martin Bustos Moyano - IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens - Day Three
Zimbio: Martín Bustos Moyano
The match could be considered the birth of better things to come for Argentine rugby as Los Pumas fielded a team of players who were, at the time, unknown are virtually all uncapped but today are key players for Argentina. Players including Lucas González Amorosino, Martín Bustos Moyano, Gonzalo Camacho, Agustín Figuerola, Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga and Horacio San Martín were all on show in the side led by veteran Sevens specialist Santiago Gomez Cora. Of these players all except Gonez Cora are now all professional players based in Europe and many of them featured strongly for Los Pumas at Rugby World Cup 2011.

Argentina vs Wales was a very unlikely final. It came about following both teams knocking out the tournament favorites. They were drawn in the same group - Pool F alongside Uruguay and Zimbabwe. Argentina won the group after winning every match while Wales qualified for the Quarter Finals after finishing second in the group. At the Quarter Finals stage Wales defeated New Zealand and Argentina defeated South Africa. In doing so, both teams were eliminated. Samoa and Kenya were then both knocked out at the Semi Finals stage to set up a rematch of the pool fixture.

In a match that could have gone either way, the Europeans came out victorious after scoring an impressive second half try wot go ahead 19-12 after the scores had been tied. It meant Wales were World Champions and Argentina were second in the World. Argentina joined a prestigious list of teams who have hosted a Sevens World Cup and been a finalist. Since the first Sevens World Cup was hosted by Scotland in 1993 no team has been able to win the championship and also host one. Aside from Wales the other previous winners have been England and the darlings of Rugby Sevens, Fiji. The South Pacific country has won the title two times. Its population of less than one million and economic and political state means it will never host a Sevens World Cup or a Rugby World Cup. Argentina, in contrast, has done it all - except host a Rugby World Cup.

No comments:

Post a Comment