Monday, January 16, 2012

Four Argentine´s and a Canadian named in Italy´s Six Nations Squad

Jacques Brunel
Italy´s new headcoach,  Jacques Brunel has named a 30 man squad for the first two matches of the 2012 Six Nations Championship which starts in two weeks time. The former Top 14 Orange championship winning coach with Perpignan, will reduce his squad to 24 players before Italy´s first match of the 2012 campaign, vs France in Paris on February 4th. His team includes four new players and twenty-two who were a part of Nick Mallet´s squad that battled it out at Rugby World Cup 2011 in New Zealand.

The four new comers are young but have been selected with an eye to Rugby World Cup 2015 which will be hosted by England. They new players are prop Alberto de Marchi, centre Luca Morisi, and wingers  Giovambattista Venditti and Angelo Esposito. The team will be led by the Argentine born backrower, Sergio Parisse. The Stade Français captain will be joined by fellow Argentine born players in Leicester Tigers tighthead prop Martín Castrogiovanni, Clermont centre Gonzalo Canale and Aironi flyhalf Luciano Orquera. Canada are also to have a player representing the Italians with Benetton Treviso´s Robert Barbieri named as one of the squads backrowers. Curiously, of the squads four players who are based outside of Italy, three are from Argentina. The forth being Racing Métro´s Andrea Lo Cicero.

Italy squad

Tommaso D'Apice (Aironi)
Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso)
Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers, England)
Lorenzo Cittadini (Benetton Treviso)
Alberto de Marchi (Aironi)
Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Métro, France)
Marco Bortolami (Aironi)
Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi)
Antonion Pavanello (Benetton Treviso)
Cornelius van Zyl (Benetton Treviso)
Robert Barbieri (Benetton Treviso)
Mauro Bergamasco (Aironi)
Paul Derbyshire (Benetton Treviso)
Simone Favaro (Aironi)
Sergio Parisse (Stade Français, France)
Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso)


Edoardo Gori (Benetton Treviso)
Fabio Semenzato (Benetton Treviso)
Kristopher Burton (Benetton Treviso)
Luciano Orquera (Aironi)
Tommaso Benvenuti (Benetton Treviso)
Gonzalo Canale (Clermont Auvergne, France)
Luca Morisi (Parma Crociati)
Alberto Sgarbi (Benetton Treviso)
Angelo Esposito (Ruggers Tarvisium/Accademia FIR)
Roberto Quartaroli (Aironi)
Giulio Toniolatti (Aironi)
Giovambattista Venditti (Aironi)
Andrea Masi (Aironi)
Luke McLean (Benetton Treviso)

No comments:

Post a Comment