Friday, December 16, 2011

Chile and Uruguay confirmed in the 2012 Argentine National Championship

The Unión Argentina de Rugby (UAR) has confirmed the dates and fixtures for the 2012 Campeonato Argentino de Mayores (Argentine National Championship). In an exciting announcement for South American rugby the national teams of Chile and Uruguay have both been included in the event which is due to start on March 03. With the inclusion of the second and third ranked South American rugby sides, Argentina´s Provincial Championship will see its first division expand from eight to ten teams with Chile set to play in Group One of against Córdoba, Tucumán, Salta and San Juan. Uruguay will play in Group Two against the likes of Buenos Aires, Cuyo, Rosario and Mar del Plata. The Championship Final is scheduled to be played on April 28. A complete list of the setup can be seen here

The Zona Ascenso (Second Division) is to be organized to include two groups of four teams with the two leading sides from each pool set to enter the Semi Finals with the winners then fighting it out for a place in the 2013 Campeonato Argentino de Mayores. The tournament is also to include a development division known as the Zona Desarrollo which is to also include South American countries. Both Brazil and Paraguay are to enter the division which will include twelve sides with ten Argentine provincial teams set to face the fourth and fifth ranked South American test teams.
The inclusion of Chile, Uruguay, Brazil and Paraguay is exciting news for the region and is a sign that CONSUR has its focus in the right direction. Such endeavours are likely to assist all four teams in developing to be stronger on and off the field. It is also an indication of the values of rugby being utilized across the Southern Cone of South America - the same values that are what the Rugby World Cup is all about. In having its neighbours compete in its own domestic tournament, Argentina is being a regional leader which provides further merit to the question of Argentina hosting Rugby World Cup 2023.
2012 Campeonato Argentino de Mayores
First Division
Grupo 1: Córdoba, Tucumán, Salta, San Juan and Chile.
Grupo 2: Buenos Aires, Cuyo, Rosario, Mar del Plata and Uruguay.

Second Division
Grupo 3: Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero, Entre Ríos and Noreste.
Grupo 4: Alto Valle, Chubut, Sur and Andina.

Development Division
Austral, Oeste de Buenos Aires, Lagos del Sur, Jujuy, San Luis, Misiones, Tierra del Fuego, Santa Cruz, Formosa, Buenos Aires desarrollo, Brazil and Paraguay

No comments:

Post a Comment