Saturday, November 5, 2011

Argentina Squad named for HSBC Sevens World Series

The High Commission of rugby in Argentina has confirmed a list of thirteen players to play in the first three stages of the 2011-2012 HSBC Sevens World Series. The team coached by the older brother of Pumas World Cup 2011 backrower, Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, Nicolás Martín Fernández Lobbe and Nahuel García. The squad includes players from across the country but the majority come from clubs from the nation´s capital, Buenos Aires. Of the thirteen man squad the most well known player is former Pumas scrumhalf, Nicolás Bruzzone. He, along with many of the squad, was a part of the side which recently won Silver at the 2011 Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico.

The first stage of the HSBC Sevens World Series is to be played in Australia but unlike recent years the tounrament will no longer take place in the South Australian city of Adelaide. The ARU have moved the venue event back to the state of Queensland. Brisbane hosted the event in its early years but now it is to be held in the Gold Coast. The Auistralian Sevens will be played latter this month over the weekend of November 25-26. Stage two will take place the followign weekend with the UAE Sevens being played in Dubai on December 02-03. The packed calender then sees the Sevens event move on to South Africa with the Eastern Cape city of Port Elizabeth taking over from former host city, George. The South African leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series is to be played on Deember 09-10.
Argentina Squad
1  Ahualli de Chazal, Antonio (Universitario, Tucumán)
2  Barrea, Facundo (Córdoba Athletic, Cordoba)
3  Bruzzone, Nicolás Ariel (S.I.C, Buenos Aires)
4  Cúneo, Francisco (Old Resian, Rosario)
5  Díaz Bonilla, Joaquín (Hindú Club, Buenos Aires)
6  Gutiérrez Taboada, Gonzalo (Club Newman, Buenos Aires)
7  Merello, Francisco (Regatas de Bella Vista, Buenos Aires)
8  Migliore, Agustín (CUBA, Buenos Aires)
9  Montero, Manuel (Pucará, Buenos Aires)
10 Olivari, Hernán (Belgrano Athletic, Buenos Aires)
11 Ortega Desio, Javier (S.I.C, Buenos Aires)
12 Revol, Gastón (La Tablada, Cordoba)
13 Salazar, Federico (Jockey de Cordoba, Cordoba)

With Thanks:

No comments:

Post a Comment