Friday, October 7, 2011

New Zealand vs Argentina - teams confirmed

The fourth Quarter Final of Rugby World Cup 2007 featured Argentina playing Scotland at the State de France in Paris. Four years latter the South Americans take on hosts of the 2011 tournament, New Zealand at Eden Park in Auckland. The 2007 Quarter Finals had contrasting outcomes for the two teams as Los Pumas defeated the Scot's while the All Blacks were eliminated from the tournament after going down in a nail-bitter to France in a match played in Cardiff, Wales. Four years on the All Blacks are firm favorites for victory and the local media is giving Argentina no chance of winning the match.

Both teams have made a number of changes for the fixtire with New Zealand picking star centre, Sonny Bill Williams, on the wing and cveteran fullback Mils Muliaina is to play his 100th cap for the All Blacks. The side will be without the injurtes Dan Carter but has its captain, Richie McCaw, back leading the team. His clash with Pumas backrower Juan Leguizamon looms as one of the best of the match given the quality of both players and their vastly different playing styles. Leguizamon is to be joined in the backrow by Leonardo Senatore who started vs Georgia last Sunday. Other changes see the surprize return of Rodrigo Roncero at loosehead prop and Manuel Carizza in the secondrow. The forwards are expected to be highly competitive while the backs have been written off by the local media. Santiago Phelan has, nonetheless, named a backline packed with top performing European professionals with Martin Rodriguez Gurruchaga and Gonzalo Camaho both returning to the starting lineup after having been outside of the starting XV vs Georgia.

New Zealand

1. Tony Woodcock
2. Keven Mealamu
3. Owen Franks
4. Brad Thorn
5. Sam Whitelock
6. Jerome Kaino
7. Richie McCaw (Captain)
8. Kieran Read
9. Piri Weepu
10. Colin Slade
11. Sonny Bill Williams
12. Ma'a Nonu
13.Conrad Smith
14. Cory Jane
15. Mils Muliaina


16. Andrew Hore
17. Ben Franks
18. Ali Williams
19. Victor Vito
20. Jimmy Cowan
21. Aaron Cruden
22. Isaia Toeava.


1. Rodrigo Roncero
2. Mario Ledesma 
3. Juan Figallo
4. Manuel Carizza
5. Patricio Albacete
6. Julio Farias 
7. Juan Leguizamón
8. Leonardo Senatore
9. Nicolás Vergallo
10. Santiago Fernández
11. Horacio Agulla
12. Felipe Contepomi (Captain)
13. Marcelo Bosch
14. Gonzalo Camacho
15. Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga


16. Agustín Creevy
17. Martín Scelzo
18. Marcos Ayerza
19. Alejandro Campos
20. Alfredo Lalanne
21. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino
22. Juan Imhoff

No comments:

Post a Comment