Friday, September 9, 2011

USA lineup confirmed for Ireland

USA Eagles Head Coach, Eddie O’Sullivan, has named his team opf 15 players to face Ireland on Sunday in what is to be the Rugby World Cup opener for both teams. The side named is a strong one but it is not the best USA side as Saracens fullback, Chris Wyles has been unable to recover from an ankle injury to be ready in time for the match. Todd Clever has been confirmed as captain and will form a strong backrow with Lou Stanfill and Nic Johnson. All three were playing professionally last season as was loosehead prop Mike MacDonald who is to make history by becoming the most capped USA player of all time when he earns his 63rd cap on Sunday. He´ll be joined by Shawn Pittman at tighthead prop. Both play in Englands´ second division. Hayden Smith and John van der Giessen will start in the secondrow and both were playing last season in England first division, the Aviva Premiership. The backs have a number of professional players too with James Paterson and Taku Ngwenya playing on the wings and likely to be the biggest attacking weapons for the USA Eagles.
USA Eagles
15 Blaine Scully (Unattached)
14 Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz)
13 Paul Emerick (Life University)
12 Andrew Suniula (Cornish Pirates)
11 James Paterson (Highlanders)
10 Roland Suniula (Boston Rugby)
9 Mike Petri (New York Athletic Club)
1 Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie)
2 Phil Thiel (Life University)
3 Shawn Pittman (London Welsh)
4 John van der Giessen (Unattached)
5 Hayden Smith (Saracens)
6 Louis Stanfill (Mogliano)
7 Todd Clever (Suntory Sungoliath) *Captain
8 Nic Johnson (Unattached)

16 Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate)
17 Mate Moeakiola (Bobigny 93)
18 Scott LaValla (Stade Français)
19 Pat Danahy (Life University)
20 Tim Usasz (Nottingham RFC)
21 Nese Malifa (Glendale)
22 Colin Hawley (Olympic Club)

No comments:

Post a Comment