Saturday, September 17, 2011

Respected Players

The IRB´s All time Rugby World Cup Dream XV is now complete following the vote this past week for the last remaining spot of flyhalf. The team was formed according to the global rugby public who voted from a list of nominations of five players per position. 

The position was taken by English World Cup winning flyhalf Jonny Wilkinson who is currently playing in his fourth Rugby World Cup. Of the players selected for the fifteen positions the players represented only six different countries. South Africa has three players with Os Du Randt at loosehead prop, Victor Matfield in the secondrow and François Piennar in the backrow.

New Zealand has four with Sean Fitzpatrick at hooker, Jonah Lomu on the left wing and Richie McCaw and Zinzan Brooke both in the backrow. England has three with Martin Johnson in the secondrow, Will Greenwood at outside centre and Wilkinson at pivot. Australia has Tim Horan at inside centre and David Campese on the right wing.

The three remaining places went to South Americans. The fullback position was taken by Venezuelan born Serge Betsen who played rugby for France while Agustín Pichot was voted as the best scrumhalf and Omar Hasan as the best tighthead prop.

It is therefore amazing to think that Argentina have never hosted a Rugby World Cup but Wales will host matches for the fourth time in 2015 despite no player from Wales making the Dream XV. Similarly Scotland and Ireland have both hosted Rugby World Cup matches in multiple tournaments but no players from either nation made the Dream XV. O

bviously Argentine players have left their make on the global rugby audience and this is a further reason as to why Argentina should be the host nation for Rugby World Cup 2023. Moreover, of all the teams with players in the Dream XV Argentina is the only country to never have hosted a Rugby World Cup.

Dream XV

1 Os du Randt (South Africa)
2 Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand)
3 Omar Hasan (Argentina)
4 Martin Johnson (England)
5 Victor Matfield (South Africa)
6 François Pienaar (South Africa)
7 Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
8 Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand)
9 Agustín Pichot (Argentina)
10 Jonny Wilkinson (England)
11 Jonah Lomu (New Zealand)
12 Tim Horan (Australia)
13 Will Greenwod (England)
14 David Campese (Australia)
15 Serge Blanco (France)

1 comment:

  1. Jones for Pienaar, Joost for Pichot, Carter for Wilkinson, Bunce for Greenwood!!!