Monday, September 12, 2011

Los Pumas preparing for Romania

After suffering a four point loss to England this past Saturday, Los Pumas are in the process of preparing to face Romania in Invercargill on Saturday. A number of questions rearding selection remain unresolved but coach Santiago Phelan is set to make a number of changes with Felipe Contepomi almost cetain to miss the match after suffering a rib injury in the first half vs England which saw him miss the majority of the match. In training on Monday, Argentina fielded the same eight forwards that started vs England but ther back line featured two changes with Marcelo Bosch and Lucas González Amorosino training in place of the injures Gonzalo Tiesi and Felipe Contepomi, but not in their positions.

Scrumhalf Nicolás Vergallo looks set to start in the 9 shirt again after training in the position but his flyhalf partner looks certain to change after inside centre, Santiago Fernández trained at flyhalf. Fernández was a junior Argentine flyhalf but has been used for Argentina as an inside centre. He also plays inside centre for Montpellier but has been moved to flyhalf when François Trinh-Duc has been unavaliable due to international duty for France. Argentina´s 10-12-13 combination actually looks set to change entirely with Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga set to play inside centre and Marcelo Bosch being his partner in the 13 shirt. The wingers trained unchanged with Horacio Agulla on the left wing and Gonzalo Camacho on the right while Lucas González Amorosino was fullback.

Argentina´s only other specialist flyhalf, Nicolás Sánchez looks set to take a spot on the bench as cover for Fernández while Phelan has hinted at using Horacio Agulla in the centres, if need be. Juan Imhoff continues to be used as cover for wing and should Argentina make changes in the centres it would mean Agulla moves to the midfield. With Felipe Contepomi likely to miss the match, Argentina will be led by Toulon backrower, Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe.

Possible Team vs Romania

15  Lucas González Amorosino (Montpellier, France)
14 Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs, England)
13 Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz, France)
12 Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga (Stade Français, France)
11 Horacio Agulla (Leicester Tigers, England)
10 Santiago Fernández (Montpellier, France)
9 Nicolás Vergallo (Toulouse, France)
8 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Toulon, France)
7 Juan Leguizamón (Lyon OU, France)
6 Julio Farias Cabello (Tucumán)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
4 Manuel Carizza (Biarritz, France)
3 Juan Figallo (Montpellier, France)
2 Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France)
1 Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Français, France)

16 Agustín Creevy (Montpellier, France)
17 Martín Scelzo (Agen, France)
18 Mariano Galarza (Los Pampas XV)
19 Alejandro Campos (Agen, France)
20 Alfredo Lalanne (London Irish, England)
21 Nicolás Sanchez (Bordeaux-Begles, France)
22 Juan Imhoff (Duendes)

No comments:

Post a Comment