Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Is Juan Martín Hernández the greatest flyhalf in the history of the Rugby World Cup?

With only two days to go before the start of Rugby World Cup 2011 it is time for the final position in the Rugby World Cup Dream Team to be selected. Of the fourteen players already voted into the side the there are players representing six countries - Australia, Argentina, England, France, New Zealand and South Africa. Of the six countries Argentina, England and New Zealand have both backs and forwards in the side. Argentina´s contribution to the global game is further evident in the list of nominations for flyhalf with Rugby Wordl Cup 2007 flyhalf, Juan Martín Hernández being nominated as one of ten for the last remaining spot. He is up against the likes of Grant Fox abnd Andrew Mehrtens, (New Zealand), Stephen Larkham and Michael Lynagh (Australia), Johnny Wilkinson and Rob Andrew (England), Joel Stransky (South Africa), Christophe Lamaison (France) and Canada´s Gareth Rees. Only England´s Johnny Wilkinson will be playing in New Zealand 2011 as all others, bar Hernández no longer play. Hernández was ruled out through injury.

South America has three players in the Dream Team with former Argentine scrumhalf and captain Agustín Pichot and tighthead prop Omar Hasan being joined by Serge Blanco who was a French international in two Rugby World Cup´s but was born in Venezuela. The nomination of Rees is a reminder of just how much the America´s has given to global rugby and that the region is, indeed, the one to host Rugby World Cup 2023. The decision on the best flyhalf will be made by you, the fans. Simply enter the social networks of Twitter or Facebook to vote on the Total Rugby page.

Rugby World Cup Dream Team

15 Serge Betsen (France)
14 David Campese (Australia)
13 Will Greenwood (England)
12 Tim Horan (Australia)
11 Jonah Lomu (New Zealand)
9 Agustín Pichot (Argentina)
8 Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand)
7 Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
6 François Piennar (South Africa)
5 Victor Matfield (South Africa)
4 Martin Johnson (England)
3 Omar Hasan (Argentina)
2 Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand)
1 Os du Randt (South Africa)

No comments:

Post a Comment