Monday, September 19, 2011

Argentina vs Scotland - Rugby World Cup 2007

The crunch match is coming, in six days time Argentina and Scotland will face off in a must win Rugby World Cup match in Wellington. The last time the two sides met at a Rugby World Cup was at the Stade de France in Saint Denis, Paris in the fourth and final Quarter Final of Rugby World Cup 2007 with Argentina entereing as favorites but having to work hard to defeat a Scottish side which lifted its game tremendously from the level it had performed in the Pool stage. Given the importance of the upcoming match, which is to be the biggest of the week, Argentina 2023 will be using the time between now and the match to take a look back at the rivalry between the sides over the period of 2007-2011.

Midway through the secondhalf Argentina looked to be in firm control as Los Pumas were leading 19-6. However, as is normal in rugby matches, situations can change at the snap of ones fingers as Scotland scored a try to take the game down to the wire. Scoring had started with a long range penalty goal to Scottish flyhalf, Dan Parks who was asked to kick from halfway in place of Chris Paterson. Felipe Contepomi made it 3-3 as he succeeded in kicking a penalty of his own after he had missed his first attempt. Contepomi made it 6-3 as Argentina began to overpower the European forwards as he kicked his second penalty after Scottish winger, Sean Lamont was penalized got taking out Los Pumas fullback, Ignacio Corleto. Pumas veteran backrower, Gonzalo Longo, scored the first try of the match in the 33rd minute as he charged down a clearance kick from Dan Parks and was able to beat Sean Lamont to the ball, gather, and dive over for the try. With Contepomi´s conversion on target Argentina found themselves leading by ten points. Scotland, fought back, however, with Paterson slotting a penalty to make it 13-6 at the interval.

Contepomi scored the first points after the break with a simply penalty kick as both teams were, by now, involved in a game of ten man rugby. After a lenghtly period of both teams playing in the centre of the field, Argentine flyhlaf Juan Martín Hernández extended the South Americans´ lead as he slotted a swirling left-footed dropgoal in the 57th minute. With Scotland´s chances looking over the Europeans finally found themsleves hot on attack in Argentina´s 22 and with two Pumas out of the defensive line recieving medical treatment, replacement scrumhalf, Chris Cusiter ceased the opportunity to dart over for a try in the corner. Paterson succeeded with the high-pressure sideline conversion to cut the gap to six points. Scotland had a chance in the final minute as they had a lineout and then a scrum well inside the Argentine 22. Los Pumas were able to hold on, however, with captain Agustín Pichot forcing a knock-on from Simon Taylor at the base of a scrum as the referee called fulltime on the match. With this Argentina advanced to the semifinals for the first time in history and Scotland were eliminated from the tournament.

Of the 22 players who were involved for both teams in the 2007 Quarter Final, eight Pumas players are inovolved in the curent World Cup campaign in New Zealand. Two of thew backs have returned with winger Horacio Agulla and centre Felipe Contepomi retained but with Contepomi playing flyhalf.  The frontrow from 2007 of Rodrigo Roncero, Mario Ledesma and Martín Scelzo remains in tact while secondrower Patricio Albacete and backrower Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe also both started in 2007. Juan Leguizamón was on the bench that day. Scotland in contrast, have twelve players remaining in the team from 2007, with six forwards and six backs. The forwards are Kelly Brown, Ross Ford, Jim Hamilton, Nathan Hines, Scott Lawson and Euan Murray. Whilst Mike Blair, Chris Cusiter, Rory Lamont, Sean Lamont, Dan Parks and Chris Paterson are the returning backs.


15 Ignacio Corleto (Stade Français, France)
14 Lucas Borges (Stade Français, France)
13 Manuel Contepomi (Rovigo, Italy)
12 Felipe Contepomi (Leinster, Ireland)
11 Horacio Agulla (Hindú)
10 Juan Martín Hernández (Stade Français, France)
9 Agustín Pichot (Stade Français, France)
8 Gonzalo Longo (Clermont, France)
7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Sale Sharks, England)
6 Lucas Ostiglia (Agen, France)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
4 Ignacio Fernández Lobbe (Sale Sharks, England)
3 Martín Scelzo (Clermont, France)
2 Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France)
1 Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Français, France)


16 Alberto Vernet Basualdo (Toulouse, France)
17 Omar Hasan (Toulouse, France)
18 Rimas Alvarez Kairelis (Perpignan, France)
19 Juan Leguizamon (London Irish, England)
20 Nicolás Fernández Miranda (Bayonne, France)
21 Federico Todeschini (Montpellier, France)
22 Hernan Senillosa (Hindú)


15 Rory Lamont (Sale Sharks, England)
14 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints, England)
13 Simon Webster (Edinburgh)
12 Rob Dewey (Ulster, Ireland)
11 Chris Paterson (Gloucester, England)
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh)
8 Simon Taylor (Stade Français, France)
7 Alaistair Hogg (Edinburgh)
6 Jason White (Sale Sharks, England)
5 Jim Hamilton (Leicester Tigers, England)
4 Nathan Hines (Perpignan, France)
3 Euan Murray (Northampton Saints, England)
2 Ross Ford (Glasgow Warriors)
1 Gavin Kerr (Edinburgh)


16 Scott Lawson (Sale Sharks, England)
17 Craig Smith (Edinburgh)
18 Scott MacLeod (Llanelli Scarlets, Wales)
19 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
20 Chris Cusiter (Perpignan)
21 Andy Henderson (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh).

The next match between the two side will be featured in 24 hours.

No comments:

Post a Comment