Saturday, September 24, 2011

Argentina vs Scotland 2010 - Match 2

With today being the eve of the do-or-die showdown between global rugby powers Argentina and Scotland it is time to take a look abck at the most recent match between the two sides. The match was the second of two internationals in what was a two match series played in Argentina in June 2010. Scotland had made history by defeating Argentina 24-16 in Tucumán in the first test which was the first ever loss in the Northern Argentine city. Despite failing to score a try and conceeding two, Scotland has pulled off the upset win with Australian born flyhalf, Dan Parks kicking all 24 points. Game two was played in the Argentine beach resort city of Mar del Plata in Buenos Aires province and the match was dominated by the weather as rain and cold conditions prevented the match from being an open affair.

It worked well for the visitors as it was similar to conditions found in Scotland and the Europeans took it with open arms as they completed a 13-9 victory to win their frist ever away series in history. The match only had one try as secondrower, Jim Hailton went over for an early score. Late in the game it looked like Argentina would score a try of their own and thus win the match as Los Pumas dominated the second half. It counted for little in the end, however, as with Argentina setting up a final serge on the Scottish try line Scott MacLeod stole possession from a Pumas lineout throw-in to complete a Scottish test series victory.

Trivia: Many of the players who played for both sides are to play in Wellington in tommorrows Pool B Rugby World Cup match. Of Argentinas side from the Mar del Plata match three of the starting backs were amateurs based in Argentina. But now all are professionals for big French clubs.


15 Martín Rodriguez Gurruchaga (Atletico de Rosario)
14 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Leicester Tigers, England)
13 Gonzalo Tiesi (Harlequins, England)
12 Santiago Fernández (Hindú)
11 Horacio Agulla (Brive, France)
10 Felipe Contepomi captain (Toulon, France),
9 Agustín Figuerola (CASI)
8 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Toulon, France)
7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón (Stade Français, France)
6 Genaro Fessia (Córdoba Athletic)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
4 Manuel Carizza (Biarritz, France)
3 Martín Scelzo (Clermont, France)
2 Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France)
1 Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Français, France)


16 Agustín Creevy (San Luis)
17 Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers, England)
18 Santiago Guzman (Tucuman RC)
19 Alejandro Campos (Montauban, France)
20 Nicolás Vergallo (Dax, France)
21 Rafael Carballo (Bordeaux-Begles, France)
22 Lucas Borges (Albi, France)


15 Hugo Southwell (Stade Français, France)
14 Sean Lamont (Scarlets, Wales)
13 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)
12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Simon Danielli (Ulster, Ireland)
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Rory Lawson (Gloucester, England)
8 John Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)
7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
5 Alaistair Kellock captain (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh)
3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)


16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester, England)
17 Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester, England)
18 Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh)
19 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester, England)
20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh)
21 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)
22 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh)

No comments:

Post a Comment