Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Argentina vs Scotland 2008 - Match 2

The second test between Argentina and Scotland since Rugby World Cup 2007 took place one week after the first. It wa s a two test series with game two taking place in Buenos Aires at Velez Sarsfeld Stadium. Argentina looked had won the first test in Rosatrio without much trouble but were far from ebgin at full strength due to the unavaliability of French based players inolved in the Top 14 play-off´s. Scotland, in contrast, weere at full strength and were looking at breaking a losing streak which dated back to 1990. It was also a match of records for both sides with right winger Chris Paterson becoming the most capped Scottish player of all time and Pumas secondrower, Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe playing his final match for Argentina before international retirement.

Like the match played one week earlier, it was a fullhouse but unlike the first test, Scotland were able to get the better of the home side and were quickly in control of the match as Paterson slotted three early penalties and converted a try scored by hooker Ross Ford to put the visitors ahead 16-0 at half time. Paterson amde it 19-0 early in the secondhalf as he slotted another penalty before Argentina fought back with Ignacio Fernández Lobbe scoring a try in his final apparance for his country. The conversion was successful as Federico Todeschini, who would never again play for Los Pumas added the extras. Argentina scored again shortly thereafter as winger, Lucas Borges went over only to be denied by the TMO. Los Pumas were then al but defeated as Scotland scored a try five minutes latter following an interception from flyhalf, Dan Parks who ran half the length of the field before off-loading to centre Graeme Morrison who scored Scotland´s second try. With Paterson again on target, Scotland were in a dominant position at 26-7. Argentina fought back but it was too late as winger, Horacio Agulla scored a consolation try which Todeschini converted to narrow the scoreline but not change the result as Scotland defeated Argentina for the first time in over seventeen years.


15 Bernardo Stortoni (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
14 Lucas Borges (Benetton Treviso, Italy)
13 Gonzalo Tiesi (Harlequins, England)
12 Felipe Contepomi captain (Leinster, Ireland)
11 Horacio Agulla (Dax, France)
10 Federico Todeschini (Montpellier, France)
9 Nicolás Vergallo (Jockey Club Rosario)
8 Juan Leguizamon (Stade Français, France)
7 Juan Martín Fernandez Lobbe (Sale Sharks, England)
6 Martin Durand (Champagnat)
5 Esteban Lozada (Toulon, France)
4 Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe (Northampton Saints, England)
3 Santiago Bonorino (Northampton Saints, England)
2 Alvaro Tejeda (Parma, Italy)
1 Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers, England)


15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh)
14 Chris Paterson (Gloucester, England)
13 Ben Cairns (Edinburgh)
12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Simon Webster (Edinburgh)
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh)
8 Alaistair Hogg (Edinburgh)
7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Alaisdair Strokosch (Gloucester, England)
5 Scott MacLeod (Scarlets, Wales)
4 Matt Mustchin (Edinburgh)
3 Euan Murray (Northampton Saints, England)
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
1 Alan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)

The third match between the two sides will be featured in 24 hours.

No comments:

Post a Comment