Thursday, September 29, 2011

Argentina vs Georgia, Rugby World Cup 2007

With the final Pool match for both Argentina and Georgia come up this Sunday it is time to take a look back at the last time the two sides met in an international rugby match. It was in Lyon during Rugby World Cup 2007 and is the only time the two sides have played a sanctioned test match ever. It took place on a Tuesday, just four days after Argentina´s head-line catching 17-12 victory over France which opened Rugby World Cup 2007. Georgia were fresh and playing in its first match of the tournament and certainly caught Argentina off guard with an impressive performance as the Lelos defence proved to be hard to crack as against all odds Argentina failed to score a try in the first half.

The match changed after the interval, however, as Argentina scored four second-half tries to secure a bonus point victory and send a warning to the Pool rivals. The first points of the match were scored by Georgia after Argentina failed to secure clean ball from the kick-off and Georgia were awarded a penalty in front of the posts. Merab Kvirikashvili succeeded in slotting the kick but Georiga would not score again. Argentine inside centre, Felipe Contepomi, kicked 13 points for Argentina and had a solid match but the match will long be remembered for its finish as Argentine left winger, Federico Martín Aramburu scored Argentina´s decisve fourth try with time up on the clock. Earlier in the half Los Pumas right winger, Lucas Borges had scored two tries and secondrower Patricio Albacete had gone over for one, his first ever test try. Pumas flyhalf, Juan Martín Hernández also got his name on the scorers sheet as he converted Aramburu´s try in the last act of play. The 33-3 win meant Argentina were not only in first place of the group but were now favorites to win the group


15 Ignacio Corleto (Stade Français, France)
14 Lucas Borges (Stade Français, France)
13 Gonzalo Tiesi (London Irish, England)
12 Felipe Contepomi captain (Leisnter, Ireland)
11 Federico Martín Aramburu (Perpignan, France)
10 Juan Martín Hernandez (Stade Français, France)
9 Nicolás Fernández Miranda (Bayonne, France)
8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón (London Irish, England)
7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Sale Sharks, England)
6 Martín Durand (Montpellier, France)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
4 Rimas Alvarez (Perpignan, France)
3 Santiago González Bonorino (Capitolina, Italy)
2 Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France)
1 Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers, England)

16 Alberto Vernet Basualdo (Alumni)
17 Omar Hasan (Toulouse, France)
18 Esteban Lozada (CASI)
19 Martín Schusterman (Leeds, England)
20 Hernan Senillosa (Hindú)
21 Federico Todeschini (Montpellier, France)
22 Federico Serra Miras (SIC)

No comments:

Post a Comment