Thursday, September 22, 2011

Argentina team to face Scotland

Los Pumas headcoach, Santiago Phelan has named his teams team to take on Scotland in Sunday's do-or-die Pool B clash in Wellington. The South America side features changes from the side which easily defeated Romania last Saturday in Invercargill and notably sees the return of captain, Felipe Contepomi from injury. Contepomi returns after injurying his ribs in the opening match vs England in Dunedin. His return is a huige boost to Los Pumas backline but Argentina have selected him at inside centre rather than flyhalf. His return to the Pumas 12 shirt marks the first time since 2009 that he will have worn an Argentine 12 on his back. Ity is, however, arguably his better position at international level and it enables Santiago Fernandez to play 10 as he did vs Romania. The pair were the 10-12 combination vs England but with Contepomi at 10 and Fernandez at 12.

Aside from the play-making positions there is an additional change from the side that faced England with Marcelo Bosch starting at outside centre in place of Gonzalo Tiesi who has returned to Paris to recover from a knee injury that he suffered in the match vs England. The same set of forwards returns but there are changes on the bench with Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino slotting into the reserves after having impressed vs Romania with a try and numerous linebreaks as he played at fullback. He will join Alfredo Lalanne and Juan Imhoff as the backline replacements. Genero Fessia has replaced Alejandro Campos as the backrow replacement for the match after having impressed off the bench vs Romania.

Fourteen of the fifteen starting players are based in either England or France with Julio Farias being the only Argentina based player.


1 Rodrigo Roncero
2 Mario Ledesma Arocena
3 Juan Figallo
4 Manuel Carizza
5 Patricio Albacete
6 Julio Farias
7 Juan Leguizamón
8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe
9 Nicolás Vergallo
10 Santiago Fernández
11 Horacio Agulla
12 Felipe Contepomi (captain)
13 Marcelo Bosch
14 Gonzalo Camacho
15 Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga


16 Agustín Creevy
17 Martín Scelzo
18 Mariano Galarza
19 Genaro Fessia
20 Alfredo Lalanne
21 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino
22 Juan Imhoff

No comments:

Post a Comment