Monday, September 5, 2011

Argentina team released to face England

Los Pumas headcoach, Santiago Phelan, has announced the list of players to take the field at Otago Stadium in Dunedin on Saturday as Argentina kick´s off it Rugby World Cup campaign against England. The team features fourteen European based players in the starting XV with Julio Farias being the only Argentina based player. Seven players from the side that started four years ago vs France have been named in the starting XV. While the side features fourteen players from the team that faced Wales last month at the Millenium Stadium in Cardiff. The one change being at outside centre with Gonzalo Tiesi selected ahead of Marcelo Bosch. The selection of Tiesi sees Bosch named on the bench covering centre, fullback and flyhalf. He´ll be joined by the young and highly promising Juan Imhoff who debuted vs Wales recently and has been selected for the Rugby World Cup ahead of a number of European based professional players. The team is to be captained by Felipe Contepomi who will play flyhalf. 

The young Juan Figallo has been selected to start at tighthead prop ahead of Martín Scelzo who has been named on the bench. Figallo will join Stade Français veteran, Rodrigo Roncero with the eternal Pumas hooker, Mario Ledesma in the frontrow. This also means that there is no place for Marcos Ayerza in the 22 who has been regularly considered as being the best loosehead prop in the Aviva Premiership. Figallo was Montpellier´s loosehead prop in the Top 14 and so it is likely that he´ll switch positions to enable Scelzo to enter in the second half.

1 Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Français, France)
2 Mario Ledesma (ex-Clermont, France)
3 Juan Figallo (Montpellier, France)
4 Manuel Carizza (Biarritz, France)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
6 Julio Farias (Tucumán)
7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón (Lyon OU, France)
8 Juan Fernández Lobbe (Toulon, France)
9 Nicolás Vergallo (Toulouse, France)
10 Felipe Contepomi captain (Stade Français, France)
11 Horacio Agulla (Leicester Tigers, England)
12 Santiago Fernández (Montpellier, France)
13 Gonzalo Tiesi (Stade Français, France)
14 Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs, England)
15 Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga (Stade Français, France)

16 Agustín Creevy (Montpellier, France)
17 Martín Scelzo (Agen, France)
18 Mariano Galarza (unattached)
19 Alejandro Campos (unattached)
20 Alfredo Lalanne (unattached)
21 Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz, France)
22 Juan Imhoff (Duendes)

No comments:

Post a Comment