Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Argentina team named to face Georgia

Los Pumas final Rugby World Cup Pool match vs Georgia is a must win match for the South Americans to secure a place amongst the final eight teams. The South Americans spectacular come from behind 13-13 victory over Scotland has a lot of ramifications for both sides. For the Europeans it means they will fail to make the Quarter Finals of a Rugby World Cup for the first time ever unless they are able to defeat England, and do so by 7 points or more. Should Argentina defeat Georgia, and secure a bonus point for scoring four or more tries, and Scotland defeat England by seven or more then the English would be eliminated. Argentina's game vs Georgia therefore has the potential to see the South Americans face either New Zealand or France in the Quarter Finals depending on results.

Los Pumas Headcoach, Santiago Phelan has made a number of changes to the side that defeated Scotland for the match vs the Georgia Lelos. Leicester Tigers loosehead prop, Marcos Ayerza has, as expected, replaced Rodrigo Roncero who went off injured in the first half vs Scotland. In the secondrow Manuel Carizza has been rested to give the young Mariano Galarza an opportunity while the injury to vice-captain, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe sees Leonardo Senatore earn his first start of the tournament. Juan Imhoff starts on the left wing wiuth Horacio Agulla starting on the right in place of Gonzalo Camacho and Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino replaces Martin Rodriguez Gurruchaga at fullback. Georgia are yet to announce its team and should delay the announcement considering that the Eastern Europeans have a match latter today vs Romania.


1. Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers, England)
2. Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France but retired)
3. Juan Figallo (Montpellier, France)
4. Mariano Galarza (Los Pampas XV)
5. Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
6. Julio Farias Cabello (Los Pampas XV)
7. Juan Manuel Leguizamón (Lyon OU, France)
8. Leonardo Senatore (Los Pampas XV)
9. Nicolás Vergallo (Toulouse, France)
10.Santiago Fernández (Montpellier, France)
11. Juan Imhoff (Los Pampas XV)
12. Felipe Contepomi Captain (Stade Francais, France)
13. Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz, France)
14. Horacio Agulla (Leicester Tigers, England)
15. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Montpellier, France)


16. Agustín Creevy (Montpellier, France)
17. Martín Scelzo (Agen, France)
18. Tomas Vallejos (Harlequins, England)
19. Alejandro Campos (Agen, France)
20. Alfredo Lalanne (London Irish, England)
21. Agustín Gosio (Los Pampas XV)
22. Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga (Stade Francais, France)

No comments:

Post a Comment