Saturday, August 6, 2011

Los Pumas in control at half time

The fairwell match for Los Pumas at home before the teams leaves for the UK and then for Rugby World Cup 2011 is going well in San Juan. At half time Argentina are leading the South American Invitational XV, known as the CONSUR XV, by 33-3 after running in five first half tries. Argentina is playing in its away strip of dark blue while the CONSUR XV is playing in red. The Invitational XV is clearly not of the same level as Los Pumas but the side has nonetheless played well so far. The public have turned up in big numbers as Argentina continues to get behind Los Pumas.

It did not take Los Pumas long to show their dominance as uncapped winger, Juan Imhoff got Argentina on the board in the second minute which captain Felipe Contepomi converted. Two minutes latter Los Pumas went in again as Horacio Agulla scored a try on the other wing. Contepomi´s conversion was wide.  The CONSUR XV put in solid defence for more than 25 minutes as Los Pumas were unable to put further points on the board. Agulla went in, however, for his second try of the half after 30 minutes of play and with Contepomi´s conversion on target Argentina were ahead 19-0 with ten minutes remaining in the first half. The wingers were at it again straight from the restart as Argentina socred its fourth try one minute latter through Juan Imhoff. Contepomi made it three from four and put his team ahead 26-0 with eight minutes left to play before the interval. CONSUR XV got on the board with a penalty goal through Argentine flyhalf Benjamín Madero in the 28th minute but it was Argentina who would score the final points of the half with Juan Imhoff completing a hat trick. With Contepomi´s conversion from in front of the posts, Argentina are leading 33-3 at halftime.


15 Lucas González Amorosino
14 Horacio Agulla
13 Marcelo Bosch
12 Santiago Fernández
11 Juan Imhoff
10 Felipe Contepomi (captain)
9 Nicolás Vergallo
8 Juan Fernández Lobbe
7 Alejandro Campos
6 Genaro Fessia
5 Patricio Albacete
4 Mariano Galarza
3 Juan Figallo
2 Mario Ledesma
1 Marcos Ayerza


15 Gastón Mieres
14 Fernando Luna
13 Lisandro Gómez López
12 Alberto Román
11 Leandro Leivas
10 Benjamín Madero
9 Santiago Méndez
8 Germán Suazo
7 José Basile
6 Ignacio Pasman
5 Felipe Aranguren
4 Hugo Schierano
3 Julio César Figallo (Panda)
2 Emiliano Coria
1 Francisco Deformes

No comments:

Post a Comment