Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Juan Martín Hernández - to miss Rugby World Cup 2011

Today is the day in which Argentine international rugby coach, Santiago Phelan, will annoucne his final squad of thirty players who will travel to New Zealand in search of Rugby World Cup glory. The official announcement is to be made at 5:00pm local time and so far only two players have been confirmed - captain Felipe Contepomi and vice-captain, Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe. The pair were important players for Argentina at Rugby World Cup 2007 with Contepomi being one of four finalists for IRB Player of the year. One of the three others was his colleague, Juan Martín Hernández. El Mago, as he is known by in France, will not be one of the other 28 players included in the Los Pumas squad. He has officially been left out of New Zealand 2011 after failing to adequately recover from a knee injury picked up playing in the Top 14 for Racing Metro vs Bourgoin in March. Phelan is to play Contepomi at flyhalf with Santi Fernández playing inside centre.

It is a tragic moment for the rugby world but it is also the moment of truth for Santiago Phelan who will release nine players who have been training full time in camp as he confirms the 30 for New Zealand 2011. The speculations are that he has decided to take 17 forwards and 13 backs, just like Marcelo Loffreda did for Rugby World Cup 2007. The option of 17 forwards means that Phelan will only be selecting two scrumhalves. Of the 39 players who have been training in camp with Phelan for more than one month, there are five players who misedd out on France 2007 by being cut from the final squad of thirty. They are Manuel Carizza, Nicolás Vergallo, Eusebio Guiñazú, Genaro Fessia and Marcelo Bosch. All except Guiñazú are virtually guaranteed to be selected this time around. There are also eleven players who are looking to be selected again after helping Argentina to a recrod-breaking third place finish four years ago. they are Felipe Contepomi, Juan Fernández Lobbe, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Gonzalo Tiesi, Marcos Ayerza, Martín Scelzo, Rodrigo Roncero, Mario Ledesma, Lucas Borges, Patricio Albacete and Horacio Agulla. Guiñazú played the final match for Argentina after Mario Ledesma was injured.

Rugby World Cup - Argentina 2023 wishes all the players the best of luck in making the final cut and would like to pay tribute to Juan Martín Hernández. The World Cup will not be the same without you!

With Thanks: http://www.scrum.com.ar/

No comments:

Post a Comment