Friday, August 5, 2011

Canada name team to face USA in Toronto

Canadian international rugby coach, Kieran Crowley, has named his side to take on the United States at the BMO Field in Toronto tomorrow for the Can-Am Trophy. It is the first of two internationals between the North American rivals with the other match taking place the following Saturday in Glendale, Colorado.

The impressive performance of Canada in the Churchill Cup has resulted in Crowley naming the same set of forwards that took on the England Saxons in the final in June. Leading fron the front will be Pat Riordan who is to captain Canada from hooker. The most interesting area of play in the forwards will likely be the backrow with the USA Eagles strong combination of Todd Clever, Lou Stanfill and Nic Johnson facing off against Jebb Sinclair, Chauncey O'Toole and Aaron Carpenter. The game could very well be won or lost in this department and the backs from both sides will need to the backrowers to set the mark.

Four players from the Churchill Cup Final have retained their place in the starting XV. Perhaps the most interesting selection is at scrumhalf with the cult figure of Ed Fairhurst to start in the 9 shirt in what is to be his 51st test appearance for Canada. Fairhurst will team up with Ander Monro in the inside backs who is Canada vice captain. Monro will link up with Mike Scholz at inside centre and DTH van der Merwe returns to wear the 13 shirt. The back-three is to be Phil MacKenzie on the right wing, Matt Evans at fullback and James Pritchard on the left wing. This marks an important shift from the Churchill Cup which had Matt Evns playing wing and Phil MacKenzie playing inside centre.

The Canadian bench is strong with Sean White, Ryan Smith and Ciaran Hearn providing more than adequate options for the backs and Ryan Hamilton, Scott Franklin, Tyler Hotson and Adam Kleeberger in the forwards all also being strong candidates to start for Canada at Rugby World Cup 2011.

1. Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack)
2. Pat Riordan captain (BC Bears)
3. Jason Marshall (BC Bears)
4. Jamie Cudmore (Clermont, France)
5. Brian Erichsen (BC Bears)
6. Jebb Sinclair (London Irish, England)
7. Chauncey O'Toole (The Rock)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Plymouth Albion, England)
9. Ed Fairhurst (BC Bears)
10. Ander Monro (Ontario Blues)
11. James Pritchard (Bedford, England)
12. Mike Scholz (Ontario Blues)
13. DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
14. Phil Mackenzie (Esher, England)
15. Matt Evans (Unattached)


16. Ryan Hamilton (BC Bears)
17. Scott Franklin (Prairie Wolf Pack)
18. Tyler Hotson (Plymouth Albion, England)
19. Adam Kleeberger (BC Bears)
20. Sean White (BC Bears)
21. Ryan Smith (Prairie Wolf Pack)
22. Ciaran Hearn (The Rock)

No comments:

Post a Comment