Thursday, August 25, 2011

Australian Barbarians vs Canada

Canada´s final warm-up match before New Zealand 2011 is to be played in the Australian city, Gold Coast on Firday evening at Skilled Park. The North American country will face-off against a star studded Australian side featuring test stars including Berrick Barnes, Drew Mitchell, Mat Giteau, Nathan Sharpe and Matt Hodgson. While the Canadians have named a team close to being at full strength with a powerful backrow and secondrow that should surprize the home side. The last time Canada went up against an Austrlian side was in 2007 in Bordeaux, France during the Rugby World Cup. Canada defended well to prevent Australia from running away with a big win but the Wallabies were still too strong in winning 37-6.

Canada have made a number of changes to the side that defeated the USA in Glendale, Colorado recently. Veteran inside centre, Ryan Smith retunrs to replace Mike Scholz in the starting XV. The most experienced player in the Canadian squad, Ed Fairhurst, al so returns to play scrumhalf in place of Sean White while Phil Mackenzie is back to play on the wing as the third change in the backline. Australian born, James Pritchard will have the unique opportunity of playing in the county of his birth as he is set to play fullback for the North Americans. The match kicks-off at 7:30pm local time on Friday August 26.
Australian Barbarians

15 Lachie Turner (NSW Warratahs)
14 Rod Davies (Queensland Reds)
13 Rob Horne (NSW Warratahs)
12 Matt Giteau (Toulon, Frabce)
11 Drew Mitchell (NSW Warratahs)
10 Berrick Barnes (NSW Warratahs)
9 Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels)
8 Pat McCutcheon (NSW Warratahs)
7 Matt Hodgson (Western Force)
6 Dave Dennis (NSW Warratahs)
5 Nathan Sharpe captain (Western Force)
4 Sitaleki Timani (NSW Warratahs
3 James Slipper (Queensland Reds)
2 Tatafu Polota Nau (NSW Warratahs)
1 Ben Daley (Queensland Reds)


16 James Hanson (Queensland Reds)
17 Pekahau Cowan (Western Force)
18 Dean Mumm (NSW Warratahs)
19 Beau Robinson (Queensland Reds)
20 Ben Tapuai (Queensland Reds)
21 Luke Morahan (Queensland Reds)
22 Mark Gerrard (Melbourne Rebels)


1 Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack)
2 Pat Riordan captain (BC Bears)
3 Jason Marshall (BC Bears)
4 Jebb Sinclair (London Irish, England)
5 Jamie Cudmore (Clermont, France)
6 Adam Kleeberger (BC Bears)
7 Chauncey O'Toole (Ospreys, Wales)
8 Aaron Carpenter (Plymouth Albion, England)
9 Ed Fairhurst (BC Bears)
10 Ander Monro (Ontario Blues)
11 Phil Mackenzie (Esher, England)
12 Ryan Smith (Prairie Wolf Pack)
13 DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
14 Ciaran Hearn (The Rock)
15 James Pritchard (Bedford Blues, England)


16 Ryan Hamilton (BC Bears)
17 Scott Franklin (Prairie Wolf Pack)
18 Tyler Hotson (Plymouth Albion, England)
19 Nanyak Dala (Prairie Wolf Pack)
20 Sean White (BC Bears)
21 Conor Trainor (BC Bears)
22 Nathan Hirayama (BC Bears)

No comments:

Post a Comment