Monday, July 4, 2011

Los Pumas leave for Pensacola

The final stage of preperation for Rugby World Cup 2011 starts now following the departure of a group from Buenos Aires of 39 players. The group have travelled to Pensacola, Florida to participate in a high performance two week training program. The Pumas Rugby World Cup squad will involve 39 of the 39 players with the 30th spot going to Juan Martín Hernández who is recovering from knee surgery but on track to be ready in time for the start of the tournament. The final squad is likely to be made up almost exclusively of European based professional players but this has not stopped coach Santiago Phelan from selecting nine Argentine based players ahead of professionals such as secondrower Santiago Guzmán ahead of Esteban Lozada, winger Juan Imhoff ahead of Federico Martín Aramburu, flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez ahead of Ignacio Mieres and centre Gabriel Ascarate ahead of Horacio San Martín.

The Players

Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers, England)
Maximiliano Bustos (Montpellier, France)
Juan Figallo (Montpellier, France)
Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Français, France)
Martín Scelzo (Agen, France)

Andrés Bordoy (Pau, France)
Agustín Creevy (Montpellier, France)
Eusebio Guiñazú (Biarritz, France)
Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France)

Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
Manuel Carizza (Biarritz, France)
Mariano Galarza (La Plata)
Santiago Guzmán (Tucumán R.C, Tucumán)
Tomás Vallejos (Harlequins, England)

Alejandro Campos (Agen, France)
Julio Farias (Tucuman R. C, Tucumán)
Genaro Fessia (Córdoba Athletic, Córdoba)
Alvaro Galindo (Racing Metro, France)
Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Toulon, France)
Juan Manuel Leguizamón (Lyon OU, France)
Leonardo Senatore (G.E.R Rosario)

Agustín Figuerola (Brive, France)
Alfredo Lalanne (London Irish, England)
Nicolás Vergallo (Toulouse, France)

Felipe Contepomi (Stade Français, France)
Nicolás Sanchez (Tucuman Lawn Tennis, Tucumán)

Gabriel Ascarate (Natación y Gimnasia, Tucumán)
Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz, France)
Santiago Fernández (Montpellier, France)
Gonzalo Tiesi (Stade Français, France)

Lucas Borges (Pucará, Buenos Aires)
Martín Bustos Moyano (Montpellier, France)
Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs, England)
Rafael Carballo (Union Bordeaux-Begles, France)
Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Montpellier, France)
Agustín Oscar Gosio (Newman, Buenos Aires)
Juan Imhoff (Duendes R.C, Rosario)

Horacio Agulla (Leicester Tigers, England)
Martín Rodríguez Gurruchaga (Stade Français, France)

No comments:

Post a Comment