Saturday, July 9, 2011

Canada Squad named for Rugby World Cup 2011

The first country to confirm its squad of 30 atheltes for Rugby World Cup 2011 is Canada. The national coach, Kieran Crowley confirmed his selection on Friday afternoon and as expected the team will be captained by hooker, Pat Riordan. Crowley also confirmed flyhalf Ander Monro as the vice captain and as such there is no place for promising young Canadian flyhalf, Connor Braid, in the squad. Another noticable plaers out os Josh Jackson who plays for Mont-de-Marsan in France's second division.

The team is overwhelmingly Canadian based with only seven professional players but there are players who are now Canadian based after playing professionally abroad. For instance backrower, Adam Kleeberger played last season for Auckland in New Zealand, Chauncey O'Toole playued for Glasgow in Scotland, scrumhalf Ed Fairhurst played for the Cardiff Blues and Cornish Pirates, Ander Monro played for Edinburgh in Scotland and Colorno in Italy, Ryan Smith played for Montauban in France and Matt Evans played for the Newport Gwent Dragons in Wales.

Canadian 2011 Rugby World Cup squad


Ryan Hamilton (BC Bears)
Pat Riordan (BC Bears)


Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Scott Franklin (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Jason Marshall (BC Bears)
Andrew Tiedemann (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Frank Walsh (The Rock)

Second Row

Jamie Cudmore (Clermont Auvergne, France)
Brian Erichsen (B.C. Bears)
Tyler Hotson (Plymouth Albion, England)

Back Row

Aaron Carpenter (Plymouth Albion, England)
Nanyak Dala (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Adam Kleeberger (Unattached)
Jeremy Kyne (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Chauncey O'Toole (The Rock)
Jebb Sinclair (The Rock)


Ed Fairhurst (BC Bears)
Jamie Mackenzie (Esher, England)
Sean White (BC Bears)


Nathan Hirayama (BC Bears)
Ander Monro (Ontario Blues)


Ryan Smith (Prairie Wolf Pack)
Conor Trainor (BC Bears)
Phil Mackenzie (Esher, England)
Mike Scholz (Ontario Blues)
DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)

Ciaran Hearn (The Rock)
Taylor Paris (Ontario Blues)


Matt Evans (Unattached)
James Pritchard (Bedford, England)


Kieran Crowley – Head coach
Geraint John – Assistant coach
Neil Barnes – Forwards coach
Mike Shelley – Scrum coach
Clive Griffiths – Defensive coach

No comments:

Post a Comment