Friday, July 29, 2011

2011 Canadian Rugby Championship - Ready for Kick Off

The elite competition in Canadian rugby, the Canadian Rugby Championship (CRC), starts tommorrow with all four Canadian regional teams in action. The CRC has been expanded to include more matches so that teams will play five rather than three matches and the winner will be the team leading the competition at its completion on September 03. Reigning CRC title holders, The Rock will take on the 2009, the British Colombia Bears at Klahanie Park in Vancouver in what is the first of a two match away run. The match will feature a number of players who will go to Rugby World Cup 2011 such as hooker Ryan Hamilton, backrower Adam Kleeberger, flyhalf Nathan Hirayama and centre Conor Trainor all playing for the home side and loosehead prop Frank Walsh representing The Rock with other international players including Ciaran Hearn, Chauncey O’Toole and Jebb Sinclair all missing following from the Eastern Canadian side with them put on ice ahead of the international matches vs the USA in August. Canadian legends Morgan Williams and Rod Snow will play as will Jon Phelan who is back in Canada after playing in northern Wales in early 2011.

The Rock enter as favorites as 2010 champions and also after a successful warm-up period which included a win in Argentina vs Argentine province Salta.

British Colombia Bears: 1. Rhodri Hanmer, 2. Ryan Hamilton, 3. John MacKenzie, 4. Nathan Mantle, 5. Liam Chisholm, 6. Josh Clarke, 7. Adam Kleeberger, 8. Aaron Goddard, 9. Eric Wilson, 10. Nathan Hirayama, 11. Esava Nakulanisa, 12. Josefa Dolesau, 13. Conor Trainor, 14. Shawn Mercier, 15. Connor Braid

Reserves: 16. Anthony Luca, 17. Some Mosogau 18. Scott Mackay, 19. Taylor Stogryn, 20. Michael McDonald, 21. Ben Thomson, 22. Johnathan Morris

The Rock: 1.Frank Walsh 2. Peter Densmore 3. Rod Snow 4. Sean O’Leary 5. Jon Phelan 6. Toni Wodzicki 7. Kevin Parfrey 8. Zac Coughlan, 9. Morgan Williams 10. Dean Blanks 11. Rob Wilson 12. Tyler Wish 13. Geoff Warden 14. Rob Turk 15. Morgan Lovell

Reserves – 16. Steve Cutliffe 17. Owen Parfrey 18. Chris Burt 19. Justin Meyers 20. Mike Simpson 21. Patrick Parfrey 22. Jason Picco

Meanwhile the mission also begins on Saturday for the Prarie Wolfpack and Ontario Blues as trhey go head to head at Calgary Rugby Park. There is plenty of reason for spectators to turn up in big numbers as the match will also feature a lot of players who have been named in Canada´s squad for New Zealand 2011. Former French based player, Ryan Smith will captain the Prarie Wolfpack and will be joined by fellow internationals Nanyak Dala, Hubert Buydens, Scott Franklin, Andrew Tiedemann and Jeremy Kyne in the starting lineup. Up against them will be the exciting young 18 year old winger, Taylor Paris for Ontario.

Ontario Blues: 1.Tom Dolezel, 2. Dan Pletch, 3. Doug Wooldridge, 4. Brett Beukeboom, 5. Scott Dunham, 6. Tyler Ardron, 7. Alistair Clark, 8. Seb Pearson, 9. Kyle Armstrong, 10. Steve Piatek, 11. Taylor Paris, 12. Dan West, 13. Conor McCann, 14. Ryan Macsween, 15. Craig Marshall

Reserves: M Pletch, C Johnston, Rob Brouwer, M Macsween, R Tomlinson, J Wilson-Ross, M Mitchell

No comments:

Post a Comment