Saturday, June 4, 2011

Churchill Cup - Canada vs Italy A

Canada has begun its 2011 Churchill Cup campaign in style after knocking over Italy A 26-12 in Northampton this afternoon. The North Americans won by scoring three tries to zero against an italian A side packed with professional players from the two Italian sides in the Magners League, Aironi and Benetton Treviso. The Italians also had Stade Français backrower, Mauro Bergamasco in the side as he continues his return from injury. Canadian fullback, James Pritchard continued his club form from the English second division in scoring 13 points while all 12 of Italy A´s points came from the boot of scrumhalf Tito Tebaldi.

Canada scored the first points of the game in the 8th minute of play following a penalty from Pritchard. Tebaldi slotted his first seven minutes latter to tie the scores at 3-3. After a prolonged period without scoring Canadian flyhalf, Ander Monro kicked a drop goal in the 29th minute but the lead was short lived as Tebaldi slotted two penalties late in the first half to put Italy A ahead 9-6 at the interval. Canada came out firing after the break and took it to the Italians. Backrower Aaron Carpenter went over for the games first try in the 44th minute and two minutes latter tighthead prop, Jason Marshall scored Canada´s second. Both were unconverted by Pritchard but he made up for it in the 56th minute as he scored a converted try to give Canada a 23-9 lead. Italy had made a host of substitutions but were unable to fight back strongly enough as the sides only second half points came from a Tebaldi penalty in the 63rd minute. Thereafter Canada closed out the match with Pritchard slotting a penalty in the 70th minute to complete a 26-12 victory which underlines the strength of Canadian rugby.

15 James Pritchard
14 Ciaran Hearn
13 Conor Trainor
12 Ryan Smith
11 Phil MacKenzie
10 Ander Monro
9 Ed Fairhurst
8 Aaron Carpenter
7 Chauncey O'Toole
6 Jebb Sinclair
5 Brian Erichsen
4 Tyler Hotson
3 Jason Marshall
2 Pat Riordan
1 Hubert Buydens

Reserves: 16 Ryan Hamilton, 17 Andrew Tiedemann, 18 Mitchell Gudgeon, 19 Nanyak Dala, 20 Sean White, 21 Mike Scholz, 22 Matt Evans

Italy A

15 Ruggero Trevisan
14 Andrea Bacchetti
13 Denis Majstorovic
12 Matteo Pratichetti
11 Michele Sepe
10 Riccardo Bocchino
9 Tito Tebaldi
8 Manoa Vosawai
7 Mauro Bergamasco
6 Valerio Bernabo
5 Corniel van Zyl
4 Marco Bortolami
3 Fabio Staibano
2 Tommaso d'Apice
1 Alberto de Marchi

Reserves: 16 Andrea Manici, 17 Matias Aguero, 18 Dario Chistolini, 19 Josh Furno, 20 Giulio Toniolatti, 21 Durandt Gerber, 22 Francesco Minto

No comments:

Post a Comment