Friday, June 3, 2011

Churchill Cup - Canada vs Italy A

Canadian international rugby coach, Kieran Crowley has named an experimental side to take on Italy A in the first round of the Churchill Cup on Saturday. The XV players are a combination of experienced heads with fresh faces. Curiously the cult figure of Ed Fairhurst, suggesting he is in real contention for a spot at New Zealand 2011. He´ll be charged with marshaling the Canadian pack which has a top backrow with Jebb Sinclair, Chauncey O'Toole and Aaron Carpenter likely to mean the difference of a win or a loss despending on how they go in the loose. All three have been playing in Europe this past season. They´ll pack down behind a trade-mark tough no-nonsense Canadian front five. Outside Fairhurst Crowley has opted to start Ander Monro at flyhalf with Ryan Smith returning to the side at inside centre. While Canada´s best attacking playmaker, Matt Evans will take a place on the bench.


1. Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack)
2. Pat Riordan (Captain) (B.C. Bears)
3. Jason Marshall  (B.C. Bears)
4. Tyler Hotson  (Plymouth Albion, England)
5. Brian Erichsen (B.C. Bears)
6. Jebb Sinclair (The Rock)
7. Chauncey O'Toole (The Rock)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Plymouth Albion, England)
9. Ed Fairhurst (B.C Bears)
10. Ander Monro (Ontario Blues)
11. Phil Mackenzie (Esher, England)
12. Ryan Smith (Prairie Wolf Pack)
13. Conor Trainor (B.C. Bears)
14. Ciaran Hearn (The Rock)
15. James Pritchard (Bedford Blues, England)

Reserves: 16. Ryan Hamilton (B.C. Bears), 17. Andrew Tiedemann (Prairie Wolf Pack), 18. Mitch Gudgeon (B.C. Bears), 19. Nanyak Dala (Prairie Wolf Pack), 20. Sean White (B.C. Bears), 21. Mike Scholz (Ontario Blues), 22. Matt Evans (Newport Gwent Dragons, Wales)

No comments:

Post a Comment