Saturday, May 28, 2011

Argentina win 2011 South American Championship

Argentina was crowned South American champions for the 33rd time in history during the week following going through the 2011 Copa 'Voto Cataratas' undefeated. Argentina took on the first and second placed sides from the first round, Chile and Uruguay and with two wins Argentina ensured the sides hegemonic position in South American rugby remains intact. Argentina knocked over uruguay 75-14 in a comprehensive performance which featured a total of eleven tries with Fernando Luna crossing three times, Walter Weiss and Ramiro Moyano twice each and Tomás Cubelli, Nicolás Centurión, Belisario Agulla and José Basile all scoring one try each. Benjamín Madero kicked ten conversions for Argentina. Los Teros scored two tries with Leandro Leivas and Gastón Mieres both crossing while Matías Arocena slotted the extras.

Earlier in the week, Argentina had defeated Chile 61-6 with Belisario Agulla scoring a double and Román Miralles, Felipe Aranguren, Santiago González Iglesias, Mauricio Guidone, Rodrigo Báez, Ramiro Moyano and Benjamín Madero all scoring tries. Santiago González Iglesias slotted six conversions for Argentina while Chilean fullback, Francisco Cruz scored six points for Los Condores via two penalties. Despite defeating Uruguay the previous week, Chile remain in 24th place in the IRB World Rankings while Brazil rise to 38th after defeating Paraguay.

Final Standings

1. Argentina
2. Chile
3. Uruguay
4. Brazil
5. Paraguay

No comments:

Post a Comment