Thursday, April 7, 2011

Argentina Championship - Round 2

Round two of the Argentine National Rugby Provincial Championship, the Argentino de Mayores 2011, took place this past Saturday with a full round of fixtures. Teams played in all categories from the first division to the lower divisions. The  third division was completed with champions crowned in then Bronze, Silver and Gold finals. Andina took out the Gold Final which menas the team will be promoted to the second division. In the championship division (first division) there were some significant results, including upsets. Tucumán completed a tough and nail bitting 30-29 away victory vs Mar del Plata which was enough for them to qualify for the semi finals. Similarly the Mendoza based side, Cuyo had a hard fought 24-21 win over Salta in zone 1´s other match. The result also means Cuyo will make a semi final appearance.

The top two from Zone 2 remains unresolved and could go down to the wire after Argentina´s second largest city, Córdoba demolished the eternal favorites, Buenos Aires with a 33-8 home victory. The zones other match saw Rosario defeating Parana River neighbours Santa Fé 28-15 in Santa Fé. The result means Córdoba are two wins from two matches and Buenos Aires and Rosario both have one win and one loss. In theory Buenos Aires will make the semi finals as their remaning zone match is at home vs the winless Santa Fé next weekend. Rosario will play host to Córdoba in the other match from Zone 2 and will need a win to prevent Buenos Aires from making the final four.

Championship Division

Zone 1
Mar del Plata 29-30 Tucumán
Cuyo 24-21 Salta

Zone 2
Santa Fe 15-28 Rosario
Córdoba 33-8 Buenos Aires

Second Division
Zone 1
Entre Ríos 11-9 Nordeste
San Juan 41-16 Santiago del Estero

Zone 2
Chubut vs. Alto Valle (postponed)
Sur 31-14 Austral

Third Division

Bronze Title

Formosa 14-31 Tierra del Fuego
Formosa 5-36  Santa Cruz

Tierra del Fuego 9-6 Santa Cruz

Champion: Tierra del Fuego

Silver Title
Misiones 21-0 San Luis
Jujuy 34-0 San Luis
Misiones 12-10 Jujuy

Champion: Misiones

Gold Title

Andina 12-11 Lagos
Oeste 14-3 Lagos
Oeste 0-3 Andina

Champion: Andina.
The Gold title sees Andian rise to the second division for next season.

With Thanks:

No comments:

Post a Comment